july 14 in twenty-eight

  • July 15, 2014, 3:21 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Grades are up for my exam, and I got a 6. I've likely explained this before, but the way these exams works is the pass mark is set for a particular sitting of an exam (usually somewhere around 65-70% of the total points but it depends on how difficult the test is determined to be. Their goal is to pass around 30-40% of the takers). Anyone who gets between 100% and 110% of the passing score gets a 6. Between 110% and 120% is a 7, etc, with a 10 being over 150% of the passing score. Similarly, failing scores are 0 to 5, with a 5 being between 90% and 100% of the passing score, and a 0 being less than 50% of the passing score.

Of the exams I've passed, I've gotten a 6 three times, including this sitting, a 7 once, an 8 twice, and a 9 twice. I've never gotten a 10 and likely never will. Of the failing scores...well, I've gotten several of them. There are two I've never gotten.

Many people in my profession think a 6 is the perfect score. They think it reflects that you didn't spend too much time studying (scores don't really matter if you pass, all that matters is a pass), but you still knew enough to pass. I disagree. I think a 6 could just as easily have been a 5 if you hadn't gotten lucky on a topic they tested. I prefer a 7 or 8 for a little cushion. But, I'll never complain about having gotten a 6.

Today was pretty great. I went to work early after sleeping terribly on an air mattress in the living room last night. I left around one to come home and let the guy from the gas company take a meter reading, and I worked from home the rest of the day (which is really difficult to do on an air mattress, FYI). Then we went to Lowe's to get some porch furniture. We found a really nice looking set for just under $500. With some throw pillows and tax we were out of there for under $600. Then we came home and started assembling it. Halfway through that, the kiddo needed picked up to spend the night here, but we still managed to finished the furniture after roomie got back from picking him up. The kiddo hadn't eaten yet so we had a really late dinner of pizza.

Now it's 10:15 and I don't know if I can continue to stay awake. The two ciders I had didn't help. And the storms that just rolled through here are really soothing, too.

Oh, we met our neighbor tonight while assembling the furniture. Her name is Megan and she has two kids; one is six and a half and the other is four. She seemed really very nice, although a little older than I am. Maybe late thirties, early forties. I like having neighbors who have kids. The couple on the other side of us look to be in their thirties with no kids. They do a lot of work outside on their home so we suspect they bought a fixer upper. They've smiled at us a few times but haven't introduced themselves. Not a big deal; that's how I am, too.

Well, I'm super duper sleepy. 'Night.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.