How's all the back stabbing going? in A new beginning

  • July 14, 2014, 7:23 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Where to begin. I'll try to make this as non-novel worthy as possible...

So last I wrote I just had my MRI and it showed the same thing in my wrist I had prior to surgery, very inflamed tendons. She told me that it was highly unlikely that my tendon wasn't fully released and that it was very unusual for it to still be inflamed but she thought it could take up to a year to "settle down". She said the only other thing would be to try a cortisone shot but that she didn't think it would be very helpful. I ended up going back into a cast the week after I got back from vacation. It felt so much better in it and then I switched to a bi-valve cast which is a split cast that can be taken off and on. That has been working pretty well but I've pretty much weaned myself off of it mostly because I am so tired of patients and everyone and their mom asking what I did. I even had one patient the other day say "They can't take you out of work for that?"

Of course my right wrist has dequervains too now and is very inflamed. I had her give me a cortisone shot almost two weeks ago and it's more inflamed than ever now. She had told me the week before she gave me the shot that I might need to see my rheumatologist about starting methotrexate to see if that helps with the extreme inflammation. I've done some research on that drug and I'm not so sure I want to go that route unless it's a last resort. It's a pretty strong drug.

Not only am I dealing with that but have a couple other things going on. I went to my physical last Monday and told my doctor that I had been feeling sick after eating lately and losing some weight so she ordered an h pylori test and celiacs panel. The MA that took me out to draw my blood was extremely unprofessional talking about my symptoms in front of other patients and then when she found out where I work she says "Oh really? So how's all the backstabbing going there?" I was so shocked all I could do was laugh and she goes "You laugh but you know it's true!" She asked me if a nurse that used to work there a couple years ago still worked there then went on about how she was so glad she left this urgent care center she used to work at.

Friday I ended up calling in for my results and figured since it had been a few days and they hadn't called that meant they were negative. The girl that answered, paused and goes "Oh...uh...one of them came back positive. Your doctor hasn't been in the office so that's why you haven't gotten a call but I will have a provider call you back shortly". I was like...oookay. Waited around all Friday night and the bastards never called. I called in this morning fully intending to complain and while I was on hold noticed they were calling me. It was that same girl and she told me it was the h pylori test that came back positive and that I have to be on TWO different kinds of antibiotics as well as protonix. Great. And now I can't take ibuprofen, the one thing that helps with the inflammation and pain.

And lastly, I have an appointment on Friday to see a gynecologist about either going on lupron injections (to treat endo) or discuss uterine ablation surgery. I've been bleeding and having bad cramps every day for over a year now so it's finally time to address that. Well, one good thing....I've already met my deductible this year at least!


NeonLady July 14, 2014

Cramps every day? You have a lot going on, I'm so sorry! :(

RosesAreRed July 14, 2014

That's a lot to have going on..

It's_all_a_journey July 15, 2014

Omg I can't imagine cramps all the time. You poor woman! I dread getting my period back cuz cramps seriously suck. I'm sorry you're in so much pain these days. Hope your husband helps you out a lot at home

Katie Kizzle It's_all_a_journey ⋅ July 15, 2014

He does help out a lot and doesn't get much sleep. He works 10pm-6:30 or 7am 5 nights a week so as soon as he gets home he takes over with Lilly until I get home around 5 and then he gets to sleep for a few hours before starting it all over again. Not the best schedule but we make it work.

It's_all_a_journey Katie Kizzle ⋅ July 15, 2014

Wow what a trooper he is! I will be doing something similar when I go back to work. I will leave for work at 8pm just after putting Cody to bed and I will be home by 4. I will sleep until 7:30 when the kids get up and then sleep 2 hrs when they both nap in the afternoon too. I only work 4 nights a week so I will only get like 6 hrs sleep tops for 4 days and then the other 3 nights I will probably sleep 9 hrs a night. It's hard but we save on daycare and I got up several times a night with both kids to nurse them for months so what's the difference. I am just glad they are both good sleepers.

Katie Kizzle It's_all_a_journey ⋅ July 15, 2014

Sounds very similar to what we do! You are lucky they are good sleepers, Lilly never has been. lol. I'm sure it will be really tough when you first start out but once you get into the swing of things you will be fine. We can't afford daycare so it's the only option for us right now too. Hope it goes smoothly when you return!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.