Ramble Waffle in Diary

  • July 14, 2014, 2:25 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I've had hardly anything to do at work for a couple of weeks now, so I'm going to ramble and waffle for a bit. Sure it's great being paid to do nothing except waste time on the internet, write my essays and get things sorted for being self employed (I've printed a whole load of paperwork today, like pet information forms, medication permission forms and such like, mwahahaha.) but it's also incredibly boring.

Our mate Angi said to me on Saturday "Oooh, when you go self employed I'll be on maternity leave, I can come round for coffee every day!" Yeah, because that's how it works. Being self employed actually means sitting at home all day doing nothing and having coffee with friends.

I already know I'm going to be too busy for that. One of the girls at roller derby works on reception in a vet clinic and she's asked me for some leaflets to put behind the counter as they're always getting asked for recommendations for pet sitters. She said she does some of it herself, but they're getting inundated with requests and she doesn't have any more time. Woot woot, I'm definitely going to be busy :o)

Things I'll miss about working in this office
Guaranteed income
Paid holiday
Weekends off
Being warm inside during the winter/ bad weather
Free tickets for Download Festival

Things I won't miss about working in this office
Intense boredom
The 50 mile round trip and getting stuck in traffic each day
Office politics
Complete unfulfillment
Being stuck inside during the nice weather
My workmate who clearly hates me and doesn't try to hide it

The things I won't miss definitely outweigh the things I will.


After missing roller derby on Wednesday because of my fall, I was determined to go on Sunday. I was ok, I put my knee pads on with minimal pain and made sure I didn't fall on my right knee. But, when I took the pad off; eeewwwww. My scab had gone all gross because I'd been sweating under my knee pads for the last three hours. Everyone was horrified and insisted on giving me first aid, even though I told them I just wanted to leave it to dry out and it would be fine. But one of them got all excited, giving me anti-septic wipes and dressings and things. She loved it! So I let her do all that and took the dressing off as soon as I got home; it needs to have air!

Wednesday's session is off skates for us freshies. The advanced skaters are having a scrim practice so us freshies are going to practice NSOing (Non Skating Official) which is going to be extremely useful for us to learn the millions of rules of the game. At least it'll give my manky scab a better chance of healing without pads on, lol. The cut on my chin is incredibly itchy. I know that means it's healing, but man it's frustrating. Scratching it just hurts, so I'm having to make do with making scratching motions in the air in front of my face. It doesn't really help.

I have an appointment for donating blood tomorrow. It's the first time I've found a session with times I can get to for about a year. As I don't get home from work until 7pm, most sessions are finished by then, but this one finishes at 7:30 so I made an appointment. And then Roxy tripped me over, so I rang them up to ask if I'm still ok to donate and she said it depends how bad it is. If I still have any open sores or infections then they might not take it. So I'm going to have to go along anyway and ask, and they might still turn me away because of my manky blood :o(

Man, my language is incredibly simplistic in this entry. I blame work, I haven't had to use my brain for too long.


Camdengirl July 14, 2014

LOL! You are going to get a lot of that... The other one to watch out for is people having their Amazon packages delivered to you "since you'll be in"!!! But - and here is where caution is advised - you do need some human interaction each week in order to stop you pouncing on the boyfriend the instant he comes thru the door and talking at him for 40 mins non stop. I've kinda mastered it. I do a couple of online forums each week, I do yoga and coffee on Mondays, and I do one meet up a week roughly with clients/subcontractors/business contacts etc. If you get a business buddy who is also self-employed, it can be really beneficial because they get all the stuff you'll be going through!

Bomb Shell Camdengirl ⋅ July 14, 2014

Oh I'll be more than happy to meet up with her when I have time, but clients will definitely have to come first lol. I'll be meeting with plenty of people every day anyway, I have a consultation with all the pet owners before I take them on :o)

~Twinkle~ July 14, 2014

Hope your knee heals soon. I remember a similar frustrating injury on my knee when I fell into barbed wire a week before a skating gala. Yuck and ow trying to bend my knee during my routine!!

Bomb Shell ~Twinkle~ ⋅ July 15, 2014

OH ouch, that sounds really painful! It's weird, you don't realise how often you use certain parts of your body until you injure them, lol.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.