The Road Not Taken in Hi

  • July 13, 2014, 8:47 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I've been very fortunate to have what I consider to be good jobs. I've also been fortunate to keep good relationships with the people I work with and for.

For the past year my former boss has been trying to recruit me to come to work for him at his new job. I just haven't been able to let/make myself do it. The reasons don't matter and in trying to explain in to friends, it doesn't make sense, not even to my own ears.

My current employer is having a bit of a slump and once again my former boss began recruiting me. This time I thought I should do it. He really worked hard to get me a great offer. I signed paperwork for the background check, I took the drug test and I gave notice at my current job. All set, right?

Not so fast ..... I gave notice on Friday, and on Monday I had a nice counter offer. I was able to voice some of my concerns to my current boss (who is the President of the small company I work for) and he was able to answer to all of my concerns and I was able to get an even better offer to stay.

I shall always wonder if I made the right choice. Had I made the opposite decision .... I still would have always wondered......Wrap your mind around that! I still.would. have wondered! My mind is like a record player stuck on repeat (Remember record players?)

I have nothing to complain about, yet I have been irritable since all of this started. Really need to just "get over it". The decision has been made.

Still I continue to obsess and make myself a mess. We have no guarantees. None of us. The best I could do is go with my gut. The gut that continues to rumble and mock me.


Deleted user July 13, 2014

Keep reminding yourself of how much in demand you are. Because of action you took, you will now be making an even better salary. Had you not been willing to make change (which takes strength and courage), this would never have happened. I know there will always be a question when it comes to the road not taken. But for now, feel good about what you've achieved. You've done well!

Songbird3 July 14, 2014

Nice to see you writing! Congrats on your success.

Sassy July 14, 2014

Somehow this doesn't feel like a "win". I let someone that believed in me down. :(

Deleted user Sassy ⋅ July 14, 2014

I understand. I bet you were appreciative of the fact that your old employer went to bat for you. And then, after that, you didn't follow through with going to work for him. Instead, you stayed with your present employer because of the nice counteroffer. Now, if your former boss had been in the same position as you, I bet he would have gone with the job that offered the best salary. I'm most positive of this. Perhaps you can write a letter to your former boss thanking him for all that he did. You don't need to say much more than that unless you want to tell him your reasons for staying with present employer. Just a thought.

Deleted user October 08, 2014

Hi Sassy! Thanks for reading my entries here on Prosebox too. I'm going to try to write about different subjects on both Easy Diary and Prosebox. :)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.