Back to Life as a Clueless Temp in The Story

  • Oct. 15, 2013, 1:47 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I'm working today. I didn't get home last night until about 2 then was so wound up and stoned that I couldn't fall asleep until probably four. Then at about 8:30 I just happened to open my eyes and notice that my phone was getting a call. (I don't have a ringer right now for some reason. I keep meaning to set a ringtone) I knew it was probably the temp agency so I picked up hoping they had a job for me for tomorrow or something, but to my dismay, I was asked to go on assignment in the next hour.

I bitched and moaned but obviously beggars can't be choosers. I dug through my huge pile of clothes and tried to find something biz cas that wasn't covered in cat hair. Then I went and got coffee and unfortunately it's not helping.

I'm the type of person who needs 8 hours sleep. I can sure feel awake after getting less than that but my brain doesn't function properly and frankly, I'm an IDIOT when I don't get enough sleep.

I love temping office positions because I like having the excuse of "It's my first day" every day, however it's still stressful and irritating that I can't figure out simple shit. Of course they didn't train me to do anything because I am supposed to know and I would, only their phone system is different and so is everybody else's. Why can't offices just use ONE type of phone?! Why isn't technology simple god damn it I'm 90 years old don't they know that?

I'm working at a non-profit which provides financial assistance for a bunch of shit. That's all I know. Yet I get phone calls asking me all kinds of questions and I can't answer any of them. It's low key, which is best for my barely functioning ass right now...but it's also making me more tired to just sit here. Also, I couldn't bring a lunch because I have no food at home and am used to working in Midtown Manhattan and just walking outside and having 60 food options nearby. There is actually nothing here and if I did go I'd lose my parking spot.

I miss New York. I miss being able to relax on the way to work instead of operating my own vehicle. I miss the nice, beautiful buildings and I miss working on the 234598th floor and having a gorgeous view of the city. I miss New Yorkers. I haven't been happy with the way this branch of my temp agency is running things. They just aren't as systematic and efficient as they were back in NYC. Not as friendly either. And you know how this guy from the agency described my job today?

"You are going to be working with those welfare people."

This computer doesn't have a mouse. I find that to be extremely weird. It has one of those finger pad things but it's a desktop.

So I finally have a job for today. Yay me. I just wish I had known so I wouldn't have stayed up until 2 AM smoking a blunt in my friends car and imitating Nicki Minaj for hours as the rain poured and we were too scared of getting wet so we tried to wait it out. It never actually did stop raining and I believe it's still raining now.

Yes...that was our Dancing with the Stars after-party. Oh my life here...

But who knows what the next chapter of my life will be. I may be going right back to my old NY lifestyle or starting a new one completely. I am really fascinated with how your routines and habits change depending on your surroundings. One thing I do feel has improved since I moved back home is my imagination. I have no idea why, but I appreciate it.

I read that last night Liza and Lorna performed in New York for a benefit and Liza went on with a broken wrist and had to go back to the hospital right after. She still performed despite all that, god I love her. I am happy that the benefit was so bloody expensive to attend because now I don't feel so horrible about just leaving New York and then that happening because even if I were there I couldn't afford to go. I couldn't have met her after either because of her wrist issue. So yay. Yay me. I'm insane.

Im not sure what the other employee I am working with here's deal is. I don't know if she is new too or just really shy and awkward but she seems to be just as clueless as me.

I wish somebody would have taught me how to properly use the phones.

I think I get to take my lunch soon. Hip hip horray it's pouring rain and I can't move my car and only have a banana. Eek. Why didn't I get a large coffee?

~LB


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.