Film Survey in The Shallow Focus

  • Oct. 15, 2013, 12:06 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

1. Last movie you rented? Cassie rented The Great Gatsby a couple of weeks ago. I liked it but I did think the CGI stuff was a little strange.

2. Last movie you saw in theatres? The Wizard of Oz! In 3D. I went by myself of course cause nobody else cared and I'm a nerd. It was fantastic though. Judy is such a spectacle in 3D.

3. Best action movie? Im not sure. The first thing I thought of was The Boondock Saints if that counts.

4. Best comedy movie? I might have to agree with the previous survey taker's answers of Some Like It Hot or Artists and Models. Not only is SLIH considered one of the best comedies of all time, I personally LOVE Jack Lemmon so it's a personal favorite as well. The Odd Couple, The Out of Towners, and Prisoners of 2nd Avenue , Planes Trains and Automobiles, Blazing Saddles...

5. Best drama movie? I think I'll have to take another of the previous person's answers and say Twelve Angry Men. ALSO: One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest, Big Fish, and A Clockwork Orange

6. Best romance movie? THE APARTMENT, Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind, Up (totally a romance to me), Dan in Real Life and Casablanca.

7. Favorite Actor? JACK LEMMON

8. Favorite Actress? All I ever wanted to be was Judy Garland. Obviously I love Lucille Ball too.

9. Worst movie? I've seen so many bad movies in my lifetime, especially when I was in high school and we had nothing better to do then just see whatever movie was playing. I'd have to say one of the worst was Van Helsing.

10. Best movie? Seriously? Argh The Wizard of Oz? The Apartment? Casablanca maybe?

11. Last movie you kissed to? Anything I don't want to play attention to which in turn means that I don't really remember or know what movie it was.

12. Who was the last person you went to a movie with? Ryan. We went to watch The Out of Towners at Chelsea Theatres retro movie night. (With Hedda Lettuce!)

13. Your favorite movie theatre? I guess I like the Chelsea? I would like one that was historic in some way but I cant think of anything off the top of my head.

14. Favorite place to rent movies? I used to like "Video Update", or "Hollywood Video" haha 2 for 1 Tuesdays! Now I just use Redbox like everyone else. I remember the Hollywood Video by where I used to live used to have a giant mural of Steve Martin on the wall. Hm!

15. Do you have Netflix? I use my parents if I want it but I don't use it very often.

16. Favorite movie character? Baby Jane in Whatever Happened to Baby Jane? Haha..that movie should have been up there with my favorite comedies...

17. Best line in a movie? " Too many guys think I'm a concept, or I complete them, or I'm gonna make them alive. But I'm just a fucked-up girl who's lookin' for my own peace of mind; don't assign me yours" -- Clementine from Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind. I consistently have kept that my all time favorite line in any movie ever.

18. Last movie you fell asleep in? I fell asleep to an Ingrid Bergman film the other night and now I can't even remember what it was called! It was at home though. I don't think I've ever fallen asleep in a movie theatre.

19. Last movie you saw while having sex/making out? The only way I'd have sex during a movie is if I were trying to fantasize about a person in it instead of my partner, haha, which is pretty rude so I don't do it.

20. Best kiss scene? Im not sure...Can I just say Lady and the Tramp and call it a day?

21. Best death scene? This is going to sound terrible kinda, but in The Boy in the Striped Pajamas when the two little boys wind up in the gas chamber...its a scene where from as soon as I know it's coming, to several minutes after, I am BAWLING. Well done scene for sure, extremely moving.

22. Best soundtrack? Oh man...I think the Graduate. Unless we are talking about musicals in which case I couldn't choose one.

  1. Best Director Hmm Woody Allen and Vincente Minnelli and best of all BILLY WILDER! (Hitchcock too)

24. Worst director? Im not sure...I think there are a lot of bad directors.

25. Old movies or newer movies? Old movies

26. Best actor/actress of all time? Jack Lemmon, Kate Winslet or Meryl

27. Do you watch the Academy Awards? Nope I'm oblivious

28. Indie movies or mainstream? Mainstream but not current.

29. Do you watch foreign films? Yes

30. Favorite decade of movies? 40s

31. Last movie bought? Wow I don't remember...The Apartment?

32. Movie watched the most? The Out of Towners

33. Famous actors/actresses met? Denis Leary (x3), Shirley Maclaine, The 2011-2012 SNL cast. Im on a quest to meet Liza :)

34. Movies you wish you could've been in? Oh my god any musical from back in the day. Meet me in St. Louis, Kiss Me Kate, Singin in the Rain etc

35. If you had your own movie, what would the title be? Where's the Lighter?

36. Used movies or new movies? Used.

37. Best cinematography? Moulin Rouge or maybe Chicago

38. Best horror film? THANKSKILLING! The only movie that ever creeped me out was the Ring

39. Best casting? Liza in Cabaret! We all know she was born to play that role.

40. Last movie you watched in school? Oh wow. We did watch Cuckoos Nest one year for my Intro to Counseling class. HAHA

41. Last movie watched with family? My mom watches what Netflix calls "Violent and Suspenseful" movies all the time and I just kind of watch them with her even though they all suck. I never remember what they are called.

42. Last movie watched with girlfriend or boyfriend? No idea

43. First DVD ever purchased? Haha...don't remember either although I wish I did...I think I do remember that the first DVD I watched was Dr. Doolittle and I thought the menu feature was so cool.

44. Favorite snack during movie? I love to eat Chinese food while I'm watching shit. And drink some kind of lovely alcoholic beverage.

45. Movie you want to see? Gravity

46. Movie you were forced to watch? I'm always forced to watch bad movies. I was recently dragged to City of Bones.

47. Best movie poster? I would love a Some Like it Hot Poster or a Cabaret one.

48. Last movie borrowed from a friend? The April Fools

49. How many DVDs do you own? Oh who knows


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.