Solstice Retreat, and other stuff in Roundtrip Ticket to Paradise 2

  • July 9, 2014, 6:33 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

As I mentioned on June 16, I did attend the Solstice Retreat June 18-21. It was nice to get away, and I suspect it was the first time since I was homeless back in 1997-1998 that I slept in ambient temperatures. There were cabins there, but they were unheated, and one person did bring a tent.

Unfortunately, all of the activities in which I planned to participate for healing/therapeutic work were quite intimate (it was an alternative-lifestyles retreat, after all). As an Aspie (someone who experiences Asperger syndrome), I really didn't have the tools and skills necessary to connect with others on the deeply intimate levels in order to set up scenes to accomplish the healing work I had hoped to do.

After the retreat, I wondered if I had been giving off a stay-away signal, and posted notes both in a public forum as well as private notes to individual members of the alternative-lifestyles website, asking if anyone had noticed such. Fortunately, to a person, they said that they had not noticed any such signal coming off me, although most responding said they had not known that I did indeed want to play.

So, instead of getting work done, I did sit in on three interesting presentations, plus shared some good dining-table conversation, during which I discovered that a number of attendees had Aspie kids themselves. We compared notes on our various Asperger experiences. One such I recall was, in very early childhood, I was quite the escape artist: my parents fenced in a yard in back of the house for me to play in. It was equipped with a sandpit, a swingset, and a tetherball. So, one afternoon my mother put me in the yard to play, while she got work done elsewhere in the house - and didn't have to watch me. So, after a few minutes she happened to look out the window on the opposite side of the house, there she discovered little WP having broken out of the play yard. I also figured out, in separate incidents, how to work my father's homemade locks on a variety of drawers. Turns out one of the attendees had an Aspie son who figured out the locks on several drawers and cabinet doors in her house, at again a very young age. So she took all of the dangerous chemicals that people tend to store down low and put them on a very high shelf. My parents did that too, fortunately without even considering storing poisons down low. I also discovered that a gentleman there, who was in the service, was taking sign language lessons, as he and his wife had one or two hard-of-hearing kids. So he and I signed back and forth for a minute or two, while the rest of the table watched us.

Other than that, been somewhat copascetic... except for a couple of indiscretions between the retreat and now.

Such is life.


ManitouWolf July 09, 2014

I am sorry that the retreat was less than full-filling for you. :( I'm very anti-social, which is why I have yet to go to one of those retreats. I usually get excited about them 3 months out, but when it comes time to actually GO, I freeze, panic, and then stay home. * shrugs *

Everything Good Rebecca July 10, 2014

Seems this might fall under the expectations category. Remember discussing this ages ago, when you (wisely) told me something to the effect of how having no expectations allowed a person to not be disappointed? Whenever I have a particularly good experience, of course I want to repeat it later and this often leads to disappointment when the spontaneity does not include the same or better experience. Still, it does seem this retreat was a learning experience, although not the learning you had in mind. What you describe here seems quite valuable overall. Thoughts?

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.