One Wild & Precious Life in Magical Realism

  • July 9, 2014, 1:48 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

All I can say is carpe diem babies, seriously.

Yesterday lunch - baby kale salad with $14 worth of almond breaded chicken tenders from Hu Kitchen. (A picked this up the day before.) It was a good amount of chicken, but not as much as $14 worth of chicken would imply. Oh well. Left work about 10 minutes after 5pm, did the rowing circuit class and absolutely killed it. I beat everyone by 2 - 10 seconds, even the guys, and a girl asked me if I rowed in college. (Yes, I am quite pleased with myself, what else is new.) Did an hour of power yoga afterwards, did not kill it by any stretch of the imagination, but I keep telling myself it is good for me.

Took a nice shower, got dressed, headed uptown. Picked up groceries:

  • 1 cucumber
  • 2 green peppers
  • 1 avocado
  • 3 fresh ears of lovely sweet corn, with the husks and cornsilk and everything
  • packet of red beets
  • packet of shredded purple cabbage
  • packet of raw broccoli
  • container of cut mango, blueberries, and strawberries
  • 2 Siggi's icelandic yogurts, 1 plain, 1 orange/ginger
  • Packet of chicken breast
  • 1 bar of Green & Black's dark chocolate with ginger

Got home and was so happy A got home first because the air-conditioner was on and it was so nice and cool. He had also swiffered and cleaned the floor so the hardwood especially nice underfoot. By this time it was 8pm so I fixed A a little plate of olives and baby carrots for him to nosh on, and got to chopping.

I made up a salad with the sweet corn and cubes of avocado, green pepper, and cucumber with a little white balsamic and ground black pepper. Put the mix in a bowl and ate it with lettuce leaves folded into little cups. I usually make this with ground turkey, but mentally I was not prepared to use the stove. It came out well!

After we had dinner that I washed dishes and put the chicken in the oven (dipped into beaten egg then shaken with whole wheat flour, cayenne pepper, and ground black pepper.) Hu Kitchen does a raw veggie bowl with beets, broccoli, and I think kale, but I used shredded purple cabbage instead. Made up 3 bowls of this mix, and when the chicken cooked/cooled I chopped that up and put into 2 of the veg bowls. Bam - 3 lunches (I will need to make/buy protein for one of the days, but 90% there.)

Made a mini corn salad for A's lunch with just corn and green pepper (he doesn't like any of the things in my veggie bowl) and gave him 2 of the chicken breasts to have with it for lunch. For breakfast, I packed him a plain Siggi's with a cup of mango, strawberries, and blueberries to put in the yogurt, and a green apple for snack. I am helpful.

We shared a glass of limoncello before bed, then got washed up. I went to sleep too late and don't really even remember A leaving for work this morning. Eventually dragged myself out of bed, got washed up, dressed, packed lunch/snacks/gym clothes and went to work. Surprisingly productive morning, then lunch (yum) and now an iced coffee. A is teaching a class tonight so I hope to make it to the gym, rustle up something not-too-toxic for dinner, and read before conking out tonight.

Simple stuff but I do relish the details, many things we take for granted are very worthy of observation and enjoyment.


Deleted user July 09, 2014

OMG, when I first looked at your book title I thought it said Magical Racism, LOL. Never had kale. Gotta try it some time. Except for the oranges, I think I'd like this recipe.

Leslie Bruce July 09, 2014

I LOVE lemoncello.

~Mrs. O~ July 09, 2014

$14 for a salad?! I paid $11 for my chopped kale salad on my solo day date (it didn't even have chicken or any other meat in it) and I thought was an absurd price for a small salad...Oh well, it was a darn good salad =)

I agree with you in that it's the little things that make for a happy life. I like reading in between the lines. =)

Satine ~Mrs. O~ ⋅ July 09, 2014

hahahaha just for the chicken - I had the baby kale already. I agree, it's crazy!

~Mrs. O~ Satine ⋅ July 09, 2014

Ohh sorry I read it wrong...Still crazy for just some chicken (I can buy about 4-5 pieces of organic chicken breasts here for that price). Oh well, sometimes it's nice to splurge (and not have to cook it yourself).

Satine ~Mrs. O~ ⋅ July 09, 2014

Oh yeah - definitely...A bought it which was very kind of him but I was just floored to see the sticker with the price! This place caters to a lot of "paleo" and "gluten free" diets which I think just jacks everything up enormously!

nightborn July 09, 2014

amen to that. every moment.

I need to borrow some of your workout motivation!

Jeanine July 09, 2014

This is lovely. It is so nice to take a minute to appreciate life's little moments, which all add up to the big picture.

rubix cube July 09, 2014

good reminder to appreciate the details. :)

sarahbaby. July 09, 2014

You're right, ordinary moments must be celebrated too. Life is mostly those ordinary moments piled on top of one another (well, mine is, anyway) so may as well enjoy each sip of limoncello. (Maybe this is why I love food so much.)

Calicakes July 10, 2014

Do you shop at Fairway? I loved that store when I went to NY. We're coming to NYC in October. I cant freaking wait!!

Satine Calicakes ⋅ July 10, 2014

I have never been to Fairway but have heard it's amazing! They recently opened a new one somewhere closer to us than the original way uptown so plan to go sometime soon. And that will be so nice - fall is my absolute favorite time here.

Deleted user July 10, 2014

Your salads sound amazing! You tell your sweetie that corn is not a vegetable, it's a grain! :)

I've been cooking up strips of chicken breast with this recipe, and freezing portions in the small snack size ziplock bags. For work I make a salad and grab a portion of the chicken to add to it. You might like the recipe! I find it so hard to make chicken breast tasty, but this does the trick: http://theclothesmakethegirl.com/2009/06/09/the-best-chicken-you-will-ever-eat-ever/

Satine Deleted user ⋅ July 10, 2014

Ahh, he eats the corn salad and most vegetables/grains, he just doesn't like anything in my veg mix which was the beets, cabbage, and broccoli.

Recipe looks solid but there are like 30 ingredients, zip lock bags and multiple steps to that one, I am way too lazy for that :)

pandora July 10, 2014

What do you in the rowing circuit class? Is it distance races with a roomful of people? I want to get fingerless gloves--I love rowing but it hurts my palms.

hot-lips July 11, 2014

I also need to borrow your workout motivation, you're so energetic - where do you find the time?!! lol Love those little moments in life when you can sit back and have good food, good company... Never tried Kale either, although I've seen it mentioned a lot.

BlueEyedDevil July 11, 2014

So true about the details... most of the "no big deal" stuff is the stuff worth remembering. :)

Deleted user July 11, 2014

i can't get into kale. unless i juice it. because then it tastes like the pineapple i add.

QueSeraSera July 11, 2014

i bet that salad tasted so yummy!!!!!!! congrats on the rowing! you go girl. the food also sounds so healthy.i can almost see the colors of the veggies! i need to get inspired here and staying focused on the good food wagon! it sounds like you live in NYC yes? love nyc!!!!!!!!!

LeftisRight July 13, 2014

The food all sounds delish!!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.