Just Chugging Along (Mostly) in The Daily Grind

  • April 1, 2023, 7:42 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

So. I did make Tim a birthday cake. Cake was great, frosting was… well… a big fail. :( I think we agreed to toss the cake and one of these days I’ll make him a new one. Maybe on Friday, since Ryan will be here and maybe Jessica too. I’m just a little bummed because like I said, it was amazing cake. I just need help/work on frostings, apparently.

I did find a recipe for a buttercream frosting that I want to try. I’m not usually a fan of buttercream, but this looked like it could be really good – butter, a can of sweetened condensed milk, and then the biscotti cookie butter (or nutella or peanut butter, all would work). This time I’ll test it before I put it on the cake, lol.

It seems that I’m going to have to learn to make some gluten free desserts now too. :) Jessica and Rider made it official, and I now don’t get the stink eye when I call her his girlfriend. lol. She’s really awesome - When Court met her his comment was that she’s “way too perky” but I think that was because he had just gotten up when he met her. She is pretty perky, but in a fun way.

Jessica is actually a lot like me in some of the best ways, lol. At least, we can talk about all sorts of things. Neither she nor Rider went into this looking for anything serious… they both had just gotten out of relationships and were just lookin for a little somethin’ somethin’ when they downloaded Tinder. They started talking, went out on a few days and just… meshed. lol I was totally his wingman too! It surprised me when he invited her to hang out at the house after 3 or 4 dates… he didn’t invite any other girls to the house, so that’s how I knew that this one was different, lol. And we hit it off really well… her household is a lot like ours – a bunch of roommates/family members, including an ex, all collectively raising a handful of kids (she has 2 human kids, and we have 5 furbabies, so it’s about the same, right?). What impressed me was the fact that she was -the first- girl that he ‘s taken out who’s not only offered, but has actually paid for parts of the dates. Not the first one, but I think it was the 3rd date – she invited him out for mimosas after a hard day of work and while he had the money to pay, she told him that she invited, so she paid.

:D She spent the other night here too… cooked dinner for him and pampered him with a back rub and yeaaah. He says what happened was “none of my damned business” and her comment was, “It was fun! I can’t walk straight!” I about died laughing. We have plans to go to Aha Mele next Saturday (It’s a Polynesian festival about an hour away from here.) We’re going to take the kiddos too. I figure that now I get to be an aunt, since this is the closest I’m going to get to having nieces. lol They’re 7 and 11 and pretty damned cool. Although, i did get my ass handed to me in Mario Kart :| I’m going to have to get better at that game.

This year I’ve actually put the effort in for Lettermo (write a letter a day for the month of Feb) and am still writing. XD I’m so proud of myself, I wrote about 30 or so letters, including one to my fave sis-in-law. I do have a stack to write still ::sigh:: but things have just been… slow-busy. Y’know, that kind of busy where you’re not doing anything, really, but there’s a hell of a lot of stuff to ‘not be doing.’

I started binding the journals for the leather journals that Tim and I are working on now – I got 8 of those done and Tim’s testing different ideas for his half of the job… I also have to get an order together for The Ring Lord so I can get more scales and stuff for events. I got some new really neat patterns to try out and some ideas of what to make, just got to get the rings for them.. uuhmmm… Oh, and Atelier Ryza 3 just came out, so I have to play that too. Well, don’t have to but I’m wanting to. This is on top of looking at different research for the business and getting things going there, and all the other crap I have to do.

Today’s “have to do” is take Rider to work (It’s the weekend so we actually should be leaving anytime now (It’s currently 4:40 when I’m writing this), and I won’t get back till uhmm… 6:45 or so), and then I have to do a little cleaning in the kitchen so I can whip together some meals to put in the freezer for the coming week. And then, I really should get a letter or two written, lol. Woooooooo.... So busy. It wouldn’t be so bad if I didn’t fall asleep and sleep all day. I needed it though, one sleep day every two weeks to recharge is very much needed.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.