Upgrade in A Life Uncommon

  • July 9, 2014, 11:40 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Whooo got a new ring and a proper proposal? THIS GIRL.

On Monday Jack was rained out of work, but got called away to help do a delivery for the store his mom works at. This is a regular thing, and often the pay just goes toward the couch we got from there, or downpayment for the new stove we are wanting. ANYWAY.

He called after a few hours to say to get the kids ready because he wanted to just go grab dinner, and not cook. Oookay. Then he called back to say to get the kids ready and "put on a dress maybe? Lets go get Hibachi!"

The only dress I actually like on me right now was dirty, sadday, but I did put on some tight jeans and knee high boots. That's effort, right?

We dropped the kids at MILs, and zipped off to Newark for dinner. The drive was really nice.. some of my favorite moments are when we are in the car and he blasts some new music he wants me to hear. I love zoning out to music, and appreciating that he thinks I'd like it. Makes me feel thought of!

We got a little lost, and this is a typical situation between us. Me: turn here before the corner, where the sign is

Jack: No I'm gonna go around the corner and turn, I think its this way

Me: But the sign is back there. Lets pull into this parking lot and look in the shopping center, it must be here

Both of us, after driving ALL the way around the center only to discover the restaurant was half a block down from where Jack turned: ......oh.

Dinner was DELICIOUS, although I left my leftovers there :( I forgot, I had to pee really badly and then..yeah.

We stopped at the headshop there too, and got two new pieces. One for his cousin's wife (she has none after the drive from AZ to here), and one to replace the pink heart one I had that I then accidentally shattered (TIMMY! IT WAS LIKE YOURS!!! so sad, so broken hearted). :D

Annnnnd then Jack said we were going to stop to see some bald eagles at a local nature reserve. Pretty random for him but whatever. The empath part of me sparked, because things felt pretty charged. Jack kept looking at me, and his gaze felt different. But I am forever hopeful, and forever doubting, so I shoved it aside and pushed myself back into the "enjoy the moment, hold your tongue" mood I was in.

Oh! I forgot to say that he also called before we left to ask my ring size, and then on the drive there showed me some $10 ebay purchase for an (obviously) fake wedding set. I snarked some joke asking if that's what he considered an upgrade, and he just laughed and said he thought it was cute for costume jewelry so he got it for me. Oh, ookay.

So back to the wildlife reserve, which was gated off and had scary looking signs like "TRESPASSERS WILL BE PROSECUTED!" So we did the logical thing and climbed through the gate, duh.

To see the eagle nest, we had to walk a short bit and then down some steps to get closer to the basin. I've never seen bald eagles in the wild, and to see a nest with mom/dad/babies was just spectacular! One soared up and around, even. Just amazing. And as I turned to smile and thank him and tell him this was an amazing sight, just beautiful, there Jack was on his knee behind me.

The words he said were tender and perfect, and exactly what I had needed. That morning during my prayers I had sent up me need for comfort and guidance. I've been trying very hard to mind myself and my actions. The cards warned that I was spending too much energy hyperfocusing on big things when the small things are what count right now.

I do that...a ....LOT.

So anyway, yeah. He went into an actual jewelry store guys. He spent actual money. He wont stop talking about actually marrying me. I don't know what happened, but thank you, Universe.


in other Universe news, Tom and Julie have arrived from Arizona and Tom starts work next week! I am so excited to start this chapter of our lives!


Gurly239 July 09, 2014

EEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE CONGRATS! I don't know your whole story, but this is a very very exciting part of it!

Deleted user July 09, 2014

Congratulations!

Sagittarienne July 09, 2014

<3 <3 <3 <3 !!!!!!!!

Soulslulluby July 10, 2014

Oh this is so wonderful!! Good on Jack! <3

Fawkes Gal July 10, 2014

Congrats! How romantic and lovely. :)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.