Just Stuff in Everything Else

  • July 8, 2014, 11:55 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I feel the need to do a little brain dump. Nothing overly exciting, just have to get some stuff out of my head.

I took Monday off so that I could have a four day weekend. A little mini staycay. I hope to get away for a couple of days in September. We will see if that actually happens. It was lovely having the time off. I spent most of it in my sweet air conditioned bedroom reading, knitting and bing watching on Hulu.

I didn't miss a thing at work. Nothing. In reality I got more done in one day than I would have in two days. I just got right down and into it today. Tomorrow I have to get my notary renewed. For a few years I didn't use it and now I notarize stuff all the time. I don't really care either way, but I would never voluntarily sign up to do this. We have a lady in town who has personalized plates "Notary" on her car and has run a couple of times for a judgeship in town. Her claim to fame is serioulsy being a notary. No college, no degrees, nothing other than a $25 state fee + $20 bond fee and she is qualified to be a judge. I think she maybe got 20 votes in the election. It is so sad.

So, basically all caught up at work in less than 8 hours. Not too bad.

I finished reading Field of Prey tonight. Another great read from John Sandford*. I am not sure what I want to read next. I did pre-order the Four "collection" to finish out the Divergent series, but I don't know if I am in the mood for that. I have read three "adult" novels in a row and I am thinking about conitnuing that. I would like to get caught up on the Virgil Flowers series in time for the new release in October. I think I have four to read in that series.

I think I am going to go back to actual paper books. I love my e-reader for the convenience of reading in bed without a light, but...I am finding that it is not necessarily a cost savings. I can get used books cheaper than an ebook and going back to look up something is so much easier in a paper book. I have three that I just got that I am going to give it a go with and see where I end up.

I have been knitting a lot and have about 100 projects I want to knit for people. Maybe not quite 100, but pretty damn close. An entire book of stuff I would like to knit for Mom's kitchen, plus a couple of dragons for my littlest nephews. Not to mention a shawl for my bestie. I was thinking about trying to knit three shawls for me, Mom & Sis. I thought that would be nice. Plus I have a bear to finish for my aunt and am thinking about trying to knit something for the other aunt. Then there are some things for me and the list just keeps growing.

Speaking of knitting, I ordered a boat load of yarn from Knit Picks and I am kind of pissed off because part of what I ordered I did through a build-a-kit type thing and I didn't get 4 balls of Swan that I need to do this one project I really wanted to start on and...it is backordered until late August. I didn't get charged for it, but there was no notification that it was unavailable. That pissed me off and then one of the colors I got to go with Gunner's dragon does not even come close to complementing the main yarn. Nowhere in the vacinity of it. Now I have to try and find something else that will work. I am trying to decide if I want to change the color scheme of the kitchen stuff from Red & White to Red & Gray since I can't get the Swan yarn until the end of August. Fuck! And there is no guarantee that I can get it before it sells out. I would have to set a reminder to check every day in case it comes in early. I love KP, but they are constantly out of colors and the wait time to get them is unreal!

I have the beginning of a sore throat. I am hoping it holds off until Thursday. Usually this is how colds start and if I can get through to Thursday, I think my massage will "push" it out of my body. I never would have believed that would work, but I had either a cold or horrible allergies and after a massage a few years ago, poof it was gone. My masseuse said that massage helps toxins exit the body and ever since I started a regular rotation, I have not been sick. Sure I have taken sick days, but I have not been sick, except for one case of a stomach virus that a co-worker passed around by bringing in her children who were sick into the office to run around. That was so much fun to be heaving in the hot days of August. Sigh.

If there are spelling errors, they are on me. I am on the iPad and spell check doesn't always work in Chrome on this thing and I notice that on PB, I get zero indication of misspelled words. So, I own that and I am not going back to proof/edit.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.