Nick Update in Someone Always Has it Worse

  • July 8, 2014, 7:36 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

So this little entry is dedicated to my friend Nick that I wrote about a couple of weeks ago...In case you missed it, the short story is that Nick was walking home in downtown San Jose and was jumped by some thugs.

He has been in the hospital ever since and has undergone 3 surgeries so far (with more to come).

However, he is recovery nicely (well better than expected at this point). I thank the universe for his sister, she is keeping us all updated and making sure he is being well taken care of in the hospital.

I've been wanting to go visit him, but I fear he won't remember me...Or maybe it is just the general awkwardness of being in a hospital (I fucking hate hospitals...I didn't even visit my own Mom during her 2 stays this year).

Anyway...Looks like Nick will make a mostly full (if not full) recovery...He still doesn't have much movement on the left side of his body (but his sister stated he wiggled his toes the other day, which a GREAT sign he might recover).

This was the picture she sent last night:

That is Nick with his sister Danielle.

If by chance he does remember me when he recovers (so far he is showing signs of memory even though he can't speak yet), I will visit him RIGHT AWAY. I still feel a little haunted about his request to have dinner in March (and how I declined)...I should have gone.

If anything I have learned a few things from his experience so far...I will be making a better effort to spend MORE time with friends...Life is short and you never know when your time might be up.


Satine July 08, 2014

Great news - best wishes for a full recovery...xx

Deleted user July 08, 2014

That is so very true. Life is terribly short. The people we think will be here forever, great health, positive attitudes, can be taken in a moment. I have a friend that I used to read on OD. I was an idiot and lost touch with her. I kept her cousin on my FB because she is my health coach. My friend had an aneurism two nights ago and it's not looking good at all. I'm not sure if there is brain activity or not. This is a girl that ate healthy all the time, rarely drank, worked out, had a very positive outlook on life, touched all the people in her life in such an amazing way. I so hope that you get to spend time with Nick and that he remembers you.

~Mrs. O~ Deleted user ⋅ July 08, 2014

I'm so deeply sorry to hear about your friend, I will be sending good thoughts out to the Universe that she recovers.

I'm always a fan of just living your life (vices and all)...My Grandmother who was super healthy, worked out daily, even in her late 60s, rarely ever drank (maybe 1 glass of wine per year, if that), and never smoked ended up dying of lung cancer at only 69 years old...

Before she died she said "Please take care of yourself and don't smoke." All I could think was "Why?!!" What is the point of taking care of yourself "PERFECTLY" if you end up dying early anyway?!

Genes are tricky like that...My Grandfather smoked and drank everyday since he was 10 years old and lived to be 88 years old. I think my Dad thought that he'd take after his Dad, however it didn't happen that way...Even though my Dad gave up the drinking, he still died at 59 years old.

I'm not saying everyone should drink and smoke heavily (or indulge in too much of anything everyday)...

I'm just saying we should all enjoy life (including the vices in moderation), live in the now, and never pass up opportunities to spend time with those we care about because we just NEVER know when our time is up (no matter how careful or how wreckless a person is, I'm most certain the Universe has an ultimate plan for us all).

Small Town Girl July 08, 2014

Glad he is doing better! What a fighter!

~Mrs. O~ Small Town Girl ⋅ July 08, 2014

He is a fighter for sure and I'm praying everyday he makes a FULL recovery. His daughter needs him and is really missing her Daddy (breaks my heart).

dickson. July 09, 2014

Aww I love that picture :)

Amen, life is too damn short.

It's Time For Me. July 12, 2014

So happy to hear this. I hope he continues making progress.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.