Tuesday - 08.07.14 in Your Face

  • July 8, 2014, 6:58 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

No word from the Consulate today. Frustrating, but all I can do is wait. I feel as though I have already been a bit of a pest with my recent emails, so I won't harass them for a few days yet. I just have to let it be. I've waited this long, what's a few more days?

My brother is to go back to work again after his surgery. I had thought it was a bit soon, only two weeks, but I suppose he is fit enough for light duties, so off he must go. It appears that he only has to work from 1pm onward each day, and they have given him a job better suited to his temperament (driving a sweeper buggy, instead of folding and stapling paper in the office) and he came home in a relatively good mood.

I spent my day pottering around. I put lamb shanks in the oven early, chopping the onions and garlic made my eyes a bit sore and I was cold so I decided to tuck myself back in to bed for a rest. Dozed for an hour or so, then watched a DVD and played AOE II.

Visited my neighbour for a drink before dinner. I am not really that enthused at doing this every afternoon, but there is obviously something going on with him right now that he thinks he needs to have a few drinks, and he doesn't want to drink alone. He's not supposed to be drinking, because his liver is crapping out on him, but he makes his own decisions. I have been drinking a Baileys and milk, lots of ice.

I shredded my lamb shank and had it on toasted bread, with a smear of hot English mustard.

I am currently talking to my Heslop online about my visit to Dubbo this weekend. We're planning a bunch of stuff to do, and I am looking forward to it, but just have reservations because of how weird he has been acting lately. It just feels like he's pretending we're a couple, and it makes me very uncomfortable. That said, I will miss him terribly when I move, and we both want to make the most of the time we have left.

Tomorrow is tax return day, which is wonderful and sucky. Wonderful because a tax return is an amazing thing, sucky because I'll pay some bills from it and immediately feel sad that it has shrunk. But, that's what I want it for, right? Nothing is free.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.