A Room Of One's Own/House Made of Dawn in Back entries: 2013 - 2015

  • July 8, 2014, 3:23 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

A Room of One’s Own by Virginia Woolf (112 pages) was interesting - it came from a lecture that Woolf presented at Girton College, Cambridge on creativity, and women’s writing. Mum sent me one of those literary mugs that have book titles on them for my birthday, which convinced me to go and actually read this. A very quick, interesting read with discussions on Austen and Charlotte Bronte and a few thoughts on what would have happened if Shakespeare had a gifted sister.

House Made of Dawn is the Pulitzer Prize winning novel by Native American writer N. Scott Momaday (200 pages, including About the Author, About the Book, and a section called “Read On”). I’d come across a short story by Momaday a while back, when I was reading a collection of short stories written by Native Americans, and I wanted to keep an eye out for any more works by the contributing authors. It took me ages to find a copy of this particular book. It’s the story of a young man named Abel who returns from serving in WWII, and finds himself torn between the culture of his ancestors and the culture of industrial America. This clash spells his descent into hell. I can see myself rereading this at some point in the future - a fascinating novel.


Last updated January 01, 2015


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.