Blue Hydrangea, Cold Cash Divine in Magical Realism

  • July 8, 2014, 12:56 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Okay...all I want to do is post Lana Del Rey lyrics like an obsessive teenager and moon about in smudged eyeliner and slinky white dresses...instead I am here at work like a boring grownup in a shift dress and a bare face. Oh well.

Here are my diary things:

Last Tuesday - I worked, lifted and did lunchtime yoga, A had jury duty and they released them super early, so he met me after the gym. We went to the East Village, I got a mani/pedi (red) and we went to a burger joint to watch the World Cup. We each had a beer (Peroni draft) and two sliders. After that we went home, took a walk on the High Line, got sushi and then stopped in at the store to buy some limoncello. When we got home we each had a limoncello, it was very nice.

Wednesday - My team wanted to work from home, so I worked from home too. Met A at the gym, did vinyasa and then the battle ropes circuit class. Both classes were unusually packed, it was annoying. Took the subway home and got caught in a downpour on the way back - it was a lot of fun running home in the rain! We had stuff for homemade pizza so made that for dinner.

Thursday I had off but A did not. I slept in, he came home after a half day, and since we'd missed all the classes for the day at our gym, we went to Barry's Bootcamp. Had not been in a while and it was intense! Went home after class, showered, went to grocery store. Had rainbow sherbet and limoncello for dinner, then went to sleep.

Friday was 4th of July and we both had off. Slept in a bit, had eggs, an apple, and green tea for breakfast, then went to the battle ropes circuit class. Good instructor - ironman triathlete, super energetic. He turned people away from the class once spots filled up, which I appreciated. It's the only fair thing to do. After class we went home, showered, got ready for the day. We had brunch at Philip Marie - I had an omelette with mushrooms, tomato, and spinach, and A had the fried green tomato BLT. Both were good but soooo much food. We opted for the bottomless mimosas which was basically a conscious decision to not do anything productive for the rest of the day.

After brunch we went to watch the World Cup at the White Horse Tavern. After a beer we started walking across town to find a good place to watch fireworks. Somehow we ended up at (stupid) Magnolia Bakery and two different pizza joints. We had one cupcake (red velvet), one chocolate chip cookie (surprisingly good), and one slice each at Two Boots and Rivoli Pizza. After that we wandered in to Chapter 1, a very cute new place. They had City Winery wines on tap, I had a glass of rose and A had a beer. Definitely want to come back and try their food sometime. After that we walked all the way over to the East Side, watched the fireworks, then had a beer at the East Village Tavern. By then A was hungry again so we went across the street to Royale and shared a burger. After Royale we started walking home and I was surprised to see a cute new spot, Maiden Lane, right on Tompkins Square Park in part of the old Life Cafe space. We stopped in for drink and a pitcher of water. Sat in the window and watched people go by. I of course also stared intently at the Christodora. I am obsessed with this building and dream of living there one day. Preferably the Chapel apartment. After Maiden Lane we walked to Sly Fox for one last PBR, then to CVS and home. I'd ask if anyone else goes out to brunch and doesn't come home until 6am, but I know we're just degenerates.

I like this photo because it's a perfect mix of graffiti van, Freedom Tower, yellow cab, and bus map hiding my boobs: alt text

More graffitialt text

Watched the series finale of "Californication" over the weekend - the last couple seasons were a bit weak but this last bit redeemed things, I think:

"I've been thinking about Us, the story of us. How the fuck do I sum it up? Has it been perfect? Hardly. Any story with me at the center of it will never be anything less than a big smiling mess. But here's what I know for sureā€”our time in the sun has been a thing of absolute fucking beauty. The nightmares, the hangovers, the fucking and the punching. The gorgeous shimmering insanity of the city of ours. Where for years I woke up, fucked up, said I was sorry, passed out and did it all over again. As a writer, I'm a sucker for happy endings. The guy gets the girl, she saves him from himself, fade to fucking black. As a guy who loves a girl, I realize there's no such thing. There's no sunset. There's just now, and there's just the two of us."


Bluesea July 08, 2014

Are you blond?!

I pulled some all day/nighters back in New Orleans but it has been a long, long time.

Satine Bluesea ⋅ July 08, 2014

Yeah, it's really blonde, I kind of let him do his thing but may need to reel it back in the fall.

nightborn July 08, 2014

Ugh to being a boring grownup. I haven't gone to brunch and come home at 6 AM, but that's only because DC is lame and everything closes by 3. Freaking Magnolia bakery draws me in every time. Their banana pudding is like a drug to me.

nowthat'salady July 08, 2014

Thanks for the link to the Christodora. I love reading about the rich history of specific NY buildings.

I think it's so cool how you guys have these marathon sessions of just exploring the city and eating and drinking.

I always wished my life had some of the edginess of Lana's lyrics, but it doesn't and it never has.

BlueEyedDevil July 08, 2014

I can't say it was specifically 6 am, but yes before I got old and cranky I had many many brunches that lasted well into the night... Sunday Funday FTW! Being a grownup does suck, doesn't it?

BlueEyedDevil July 08, 2014

And I totally thought "Took a walk on the High Line" was a euphemism for something, lol.

~Mrs. O~ July 08, 2014

Ahhh, running in the rain...Such an exhilarating feeling!

Sounds like you had the most excellent 4th of July! I love the pics, you are gorgeous as always.

I love that last quote, so beautiful!

Caty Shark July 08, 2014

Love that quote. Hits me in the stomach.

Also love your red shorts!

Deleted user July 08, 2014

"And my jazz collections raaare, I can play most anything" I like your organized diary style

sarahbaby. July 09, 2014

The thought of you as a degenerate is hilarious to me!!!

dickson. July 09, 2014

Ugh, I want to workout during lunch but I don't want to be stinky and sweaty for the rest of the day. Suppose I could shower but ugh. That's a lot of work, haha. What do you do?

Homebird July 10, 2014

Love the photos (you gorgeous lady you!), love that last paragraph so much, love you! x

QueSeraSera July 11, 2014

love this entry! loving your pics. you look spectacular and loving the background. the pics to me sum of your week! looks pretty perfect to me :) you guys kick a$$ at the gym. very inspiring! i will admit. i have written lana lyrics. LOL.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.