so, my super intelligent puppy would sometimes look me in the eye and pee on the floor, and poop accidents a plenty. i thought something was wrong because my other dog had literally one poop accident in the house and 1 or 2 pee accidents MAX his entire life. the vet kept telling me the puppy was "smart" and i said "i don't understand, we're like 6 months in, he does seem smart, so why is he still pooping on the floor sometimes" and the vet said THIS IS JUST HOW SOME PUPPIES ARE. I was literally floored. She said it would end before his first birthday and around 10 months he just stopped doing it out of the blue. I guess some puppies just like to do it. :-I

Are you crate training also? That does help with some of them but like I said, mine just did what he wanted anyway. Went out side and held in the poop so he could do it inside. lol