* Favourite Shows (Musicals) in →→ ABOUT ME

Revised: 03/02/2023 8:29 p.m.

  • Feb. 28, 2023, 10:34 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Musicals have always played a huge role in my life.

I was introduced to this wonderful part of life by my family (specifically my mother, who I can also credit for my love of Harry Potter, Lord of the Rings & Star Wars) and I love it to this day, making sure to go to the theatre each month to either enjoy a new show or re-live one I’ve seen before.

My first ever show I saw in the West-end was Beauty & the Beast in 1998 at the Dominion Theatre. My first ever Broadway show was Phantom of the Opera in 2022 at the Majestic Theatre.

Although I enjoy plays, operas and ballets on stage as well, this post will be specifically for musicals.


Wicked
I have seen Wicked on stage over 30 times, including a performance in Stuttgart, Germany back in 2009 with the incredibly talented Willemijn Verkaik (the one in the Wicked video posted here) starring as Elphaba. I discovered this musical when I was 16 and fell in love. These days, we try to limit our Wicked visits to once a month.



Phantom of the Opera
This really secured my love for the theatre. I fell in love with the 2004 film (starring Gerard Butler & Emmy Rossum) and would watch it on repeat. My mother surprised me with tickets to see it on stage and the rest is history. This is when I began a discovery of and an appreciation of opera in general, too. I have seen Phantom over 20 times and it is also the first Broadway show I have seen upon my first visit to USA in 2022.



Frozen
Although this is still quite a new musical, I have seen it several times and plan to see it more, of course. They did such a fantastic job at putting one of my favourite Disney films on stage with the addition of a beautiful song called “Monster” that lives rent free in my head. Every time I see this one on stage, it just gets better!



Hamilton
I watched this on Disney+ during the pandemic and could not get the songs out of my head for so long afterwards. They’re so catchy! Lin-Manuel Miranda is a (hot) genius. Finally getting to see it on stage after Lockdown had lifted was a phenomenal experience and is definitely one that you can re-watch at the theatre ~ (I’ve seen it 3 times). I can’t wait to see it again!



The Lion King
This beautiful show never ceases to amaze me. It will always be one I hold dearly to my heart. I remember seeing it for the first time as a child in 1999, practically on opening night when it came to The West-End. I’ll never forget this experience. Since then, TLK is a musical that I have seen quite a lot of times on stage. It’s also my partner’s favourite musical.



Woman In White
I decided to share an absolute favourite from this musical. Although this song never appears in the musical itself. . . I have only seen this musical once when my mother took me to see it when I was younger - and I remember enjoying it but it never really stood out for me. As time went on and I went through college and listened to nothing but musicals (and metal, lol) at that time, I re-discovered this gem and, even now, I still absolutely love it.



Notre-Dame de Paris
Although I have never gotten the pleasure of seeing this show live, it remains one of my favourites. I love how they presented this and especially the music (in French, of course). You can find videos of it on YouTube and I’d highly recommend checking it out.



Jekyll & Hyde
I’m sharing my favourite song from this musical as I’m too lazy to hunt down the trailer for it. Sadly, I haven’t gotten the chance to see this on stage but was introduced to it by some musical-obsessed friends. I would not stop watching it. The songs are still constantly stuck in my head! I love the story and would be a wish come true to finally see it on stage! (Or if not a stage option available, can they make a proper film out of it with this music?!)



Les Miserables
I have always been a huge fan of the music from Les Miserables. I went to see it when I was younger but the show never really hit me. The film came out years later and I really liked it (despite a certain someone’s singing in it, lol). My partner and I went on a musical crawl in Autumn 2022 (where we were practically going to 4+ shows a week for months) and decided to re-visit Les Miserables. It was at a different theatre and we had good seats. It was absolutely amazing. I didn’t think it would bring me to tears as the first time I saw it, I wasn’t that into it, but it sure did and, aye, I still adore the music.
Lesson learnt: Don’t disregard a show just because it wasn’t that enjoyable the first time! Give it another chance - just to be sure!



Beauty and the Beast
Considering that this was the very first West-End show (and first theatre show) I ever saw, I thought it appropriate to include it. I’ve always loved the animated Disney classic and I still, very vividly, remember my experience of seeing this in 1998. I was in awe (and a little frightened of the beast). I was delighted to see it make a return to the West-End. My partner and I went to see it in 2022 and, yep, still good. Don’t bother with the daft live-action film. Go see the stage show if you can - or watch clips of it on YouTube!

Of course more musicals may become very loved so I’ll make sure to add them!


Last updated March 02, 2023


Jinn February 28, 2023

I love musicals!

Loki Jinn ⋅ March 01, 2023

Ooh! Which are your favourites?

Jinn Loki ⋅ March 01, 2023

I love a lot of old ones ; Camelot, Don Quixote ,Carousel, Sound of Music, porgy and Bess, Oklahoma, Jesus Christ, superstar , Hair, Phantom of the Opera, Miss Saigon, Cats, Wicked, Lion King , Hamilton. . I can’t even remember them all but I remember the music :-)

Loki Jinn ⋅ March 01, 2023

Those are fantastic musicals! Sadly, I never got to see Cats on stage but I'm hoping that it will make a return and I'll get to finally see it on stage. I know there was a Cats film that recently came out but it looked so awful (and creepy) that I haven't watched it yet. I doubt I'll watch that film either. I'll just stick with watching the amazing scenes from the stage show on YouTube.

The Thirsty Oriental March 05, 2023

Saw Phantom on Broadway in... 99? 98? Not a fan haha. I still have the playbill somewhere.

Bomb Shell March 21, 2023

I really need to see The Lion King on stage. I adore the original film and have a Lion King style tattoo to represent my family.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.