The Show Must Go On in General

  • Feb. 28, 2023, 8:15 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

In 1991 I was in training at VAQ-129. It was a miserable time. I had absolutely no control over my life. I was a slave to the flight schedule.

We lived in base housing. Three-bedroom two bath place with a fireplace. Pretty sweet all things considered.

Since Mireya didn’t exist yet, the third bedroom was my study, And yes, I did study. I memorized the EA-6B NATOPS manual. If I wasn’t flying or in a simulator or in one of the academic classes my ass was fused to that seat with music playing and my eyeballs fused to the NATOPS manual.

The remnants of my younger years stereo were in that room. It is said, or was said that the first victim of marriage is the dudes stereo.

I had a CD player and a 1970’s stereo receiver and Bose 301 speakers.

Queen’s “The Show Must Go On” on the Innuendo album was out. I popped my new copy into the CD player and got chills.

By then everyone knew Freddie Mercury was dying.

It made the song so much more poignant. And powerful.

/maudlin memories

I am through the medical hurdles. Orientation Monday – thus back to work. I will honestly say I am more excited to get back at it than I have ever been.


❤️vee February 28, 2023

hurray to Monday being the start of something new(ish)! I start that day working at the medical school, so maybe it's a sign that we're both doing great things this coming week 😁

Jinn February 28, 2023

Great news!!

Sassy March 05, 2023

I hope you LOVE your new job!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.