Big Log in General

  • Feb. 28, 2023, 3:44 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

My love is in league with the freeway
Its passion will rise as the cities fly by
And the taillights dissolve in the coming of night
And the questions of thousands take flight

When I wore a younger man’s clothes I loved a good roadtrip.

I drove from Maine to Las Vegas in ’85 – nothing more than a couple hundred bucks in my pocket. No GPS. No cell phone. No cruise control. Four on the floor Chevy Monza. I paid cash for cheap hotel rooms along the way. Never more than 20-30 bucks.

Middle of January. I stopped in Arkansas. Eating breakfast in a greasy spoon I overheard some of the most redneck conversations – including a waitress telling a customer, apparently her uncle, that her daddy beat up her boyfriend, no no not that boyfriend the other one, when he caught them in flagrante .

Arkansas was my hours long mistake. While driving and not looking at the map I convinced myself after crossing through Alabama, up Mississippi and through Memphis I would be in Oklahoma.

“Welcome to Arkansas.”

WHAT!

Rest stop, out comes the map.

Thus a night in cheap hotel in a small town on I-40.

The next time I fooled myself when I started seeing signs for Las Vegas. Las Vegas, New Mexico.

The first time I saw the sign I thought “Wow! I’m making really great time!”

Rest stop. Map. Shit.

Break

The news is pure comedy these days.

Out of the blue the Department of Energy and the FBI declare the COVID pandemic likely started with a lab leak in Wuhan.

First: What the fuck does the DOE and the FBI have to do with ANY viral outbreaks? Wouldn’t that logically come from NIH or CDC?

One after another the lefty lunatic sacred cows are being turned into steaks. Save a couple of Tomahawks for me!

Masks did, and still do nothing to mitigate the spread. Vaccines don’t really help. That is arguable. I’ve gotten the jab 4 times. I went a year and a half during the “pandemic” without getting sick. Went through open heart surgery.

Got the first shot in the fall.

I’ve had covid 3 times since. Whether the vax did anything to help will remain a question for the ages. But it appears natural immunity is superior to the vax, so maybe I should have skipped it an got covid and recovered the old fashioned way.

And. I’ve never had headaches before but now regularly get headaches. The days I don’t wake up with a headache are such blessings I run around like a puppy chasing his tail.

While correlation does not imply causation , it makes you wonder. When my docs added a new drug (Tamsulosin) to my mix I started feeling awful. I did what anyone should – One by one I removed one of the three drugs I was taking daily. I was attempting to find out if it was the tamsulosin had some interaction with the other two.

Nope. It was the tamsulosin. Conclusion: This drug makes me feel bad.

I never got headaches before Moderna. Now I get headaches all the time. Of course I am suspicious of Moderna.

Basically everything mainstream in media is so propagandized that you can’t trust any of it.

Gutfeld regularly does montages of the alphabet networks and the usual suspects all saying exactly the same thing. Word for word. Like they’ve been given talking points. Joe Scarborough and his robot wife are the most hysterical.

What ever happened to Rachel Maddow / Ralph Madcow? She/they/whatever seemed to vanish.

“The Science is settled.”

Little Lord Fauntleroy Fauci just won’t go away. The half billion dollar a year joke on taxpayers: “Masks don’t work.” “Oh yeah, wear a mask I was kidding.” “Wear two masks.” “Wear three masks!” “The science is settled.” “I am the science.”

I am listening the DeSantis’ book, and will say I am impressed with his approach. I am particularly impressed with his implied plan to dismantle the uni-culture of the DC area. Moving departments to different regions that aren’t so beholden to the swamp things that actually run this country.

Drawback is he has to get through Trump, whose time has come and gone.

Well. I missed my first day of work yesterday because my medical screening wasn’t done. I finally pestered my docs offices enough that they faxed over the letter clearing me to work.

Nurse practitioner tells me “You should hear from your employment special by the end of the week.”

Oh. Fuck. No.

I’m calling every two hours until I get an answer. Not sitting by the phone watching the clock until 1700 on Friday to realize I have another weekend.

This medical bullshit has cost me upward of 20K so far. I need to get back to work.


gattaca February 28, 2023

I do not know what to believe anymore, so I believe none of it, which isn’t very healthy.
My skepticism is over arching.
I did the Covid dance (4 jabs) did not grow a baby out of my forehead, yet, and I’ve always gotten headaches.
We will never know the actual origins of this pathogen, frankly, or any other.
I find myself liking DeSantis in spite of myself. I can usually be convinced if the argument is a good one.

gattaca February 28, 2023

I miss road trips. My two round trips to Portland in 2018 and 2019 over the summer’s seem like a distant memory.

coffeemate February 28, 2023

My husband never got a jab but started getting migraines at the age of 62 after he had covid - so your headaches may be a result of having covid instead of the jab. I took the j&j jab and haven’t had any effects that I am aware of.

woman in the moon February 28, 2023 (edited February 28, 2023)

Edited

I don't have headaches and I had all the shots. I've never had COVID. I don't get colds either.
But then I'm a liberal. Extremely liberal, when I get asked on phone surveys.
Except. Except. I am deeply into the Brits royals family even though I know they are worthless. I hope I get over them, maybe after the Coronation. In May.

Jinn March 03, 2023

Being a nurse I do believe masks helped. It’s not Covid that will kill you, it’s the pneumonia that can happen after. All Respiratory illness is lessened by wearing a clean mask when you have to be in close proximity to a group of people. There were far fewer cases of flu and pneumonia during the pandemic .
I took the first three vaccines and quit ; I had bad reactions to them. I have had Covid once and it was a light case. Even a light case felt bad to me . I feel fortunate. I kept up my regime of vitamins and zinc . I think they helped.
I think Fauci was right about avoiding exposure and the vaccines . At least the first three. It was all uncharted territory . I think acting like it was just another “ flu” would have been criminal. So many people died. I feel Fauci was vilified.
I think it’s highly likely that Covid was let loose from an accidental breach from that lab in Wuhan. All it would have taken was a little carelessness in that lab to cause a breach and with global travel that is how a pandemic spreads. Remember Trump waited a long time to stop letting people from China in. I did not believe that bat story for a minute.
Fox News is the main spreader of most insane conspiracies in my opinion, It’s scary they get to spread that crap. Every Democrat is a pedophile or eats children. The election was rigged, the voting machines were being programmed in China or Russia , Hunter Biden’s laptop is going to cause the death of democracy . Quanon knows all . 🤦‍♀️
DeSantis is scary . I don’t want his kind of government.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.