Afternoon walks, and what it’s like to be unemployed for a long time in Daydreaming on the Porch

  • Feb. 26, 2023, 10:53 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

When you’re out of work for months at a time and you don’t have an illness or disability that prevents you from getting out, something as simple as a afternoon walk can make the difference between plunging deeper into depression on a day when there seems not much promise of a future, or getting on with life by being out among people.

Just seeing that life goes on as normal is sometimes all I needed to feel some sense of hope and optimism. I could pretend that I was not facing, day after the day, the very perilous void of having no immediate prospects for employment and supporting myself.

I was reminded of this recently when I took walk one afternoon along a familiar route of six or seven blocks in an old and quite beautiful neighborhood of Charleston. It was a beautiful late Winter afternoon. The live oaks, just like I remember in New Orleans on similar walks, were still holding on to the previous season’s leaves in preparation for shedding them in March and April, as they do every year. Shortly after that, the new growth starts its subtle leafing out. On the sidewalk were last year’s remaining oak leaves, so distinctively small, crisp and hard, but so potent a reminder of New Orleans to me, a city that is filled with live oaks. They surrounded the house where I grew up. They were everywhere.

So on that walk, I recalled similar walks I had taken from my brother’s house on Laurel Street during an extended period of unemployment in 1989 and 1990. The route was only a few blocks from the Mississippi River, up Valmont and over to Pitt Street, thence left across Jefferson Avenue and down Octavia Street. I had to look this route up on a map because it’s been so many years since I’ve walked there, but it was a daily uptown New Orleans ritual for me, week after week, and month after month.

Sometimes I’d ride my bike over to nearby Loyola and Tulane universities and enjoy being on the campus, visiting the bookstores, etc., and this also gave me a temporary lift, although the busy and preoccupied students and faculty contrasted with how little I had to do, and with the amount of time I had to leisurely walk and bike and read and think. I felt guilty. I didn’t think too highly of myself at this time. It was as if I were retired or something, and I was only 38 years old, in the prime of life. Not a good age to be in that situation.

It was absolutely essential for me to get out like this every day, even if the weather was less than congenial, for to stay in the house and look at classified job ads, find new and different employment agencies, write cover letters send out resumes, and even try to find some kind of part-time job was very depressing. Ironically, though I detested job hunting, as I think most people do, I did very well in interviews, when I could get them. But nothing seemed to be working out for me. All I knew was that sooner or later, I would probably go back to South Carolina.

On those walks, as I headed toward St. Charles Avenue, I made a special effort to notice as many things as I could about my surroundings. In certain states of mind you tend to look at things differently. You don’t take as much for granted. Ordinary objects and things you’ve seen a hundred times before have new meaning and depth, simply because you are aware of them, really aware, and your surroundings have something to say to you as you pass by. But you can’t say anything back. You are an observer. No one notices you. Your walk continues. It’s like you are on a movie set watching the scenes being filmed, take after take, the same action, but a slightly different outcome.

I almost dreaded coming home sometimes because those walks were highlights of the day, focal points. I returned to an empty house, but I liked to time it so that it was near supper time and I could go about that comforting ritual of fixing something to eat, maybe turning on the TV for the first time that day.

The end of the day in those dismal times was a great relief. I could relax most completely then, for I could temporarily forget about the effort it took to feel that I was still a part of this throbbing world of busy, engaged people. I could just curl up with a book, take a nap and watch the night descend, the crickets begin their song, and the neighborhood become a softer, easier place to be in the darkness and quiet of evening. Sanctuary — until I awoke at sunrise with the same mockingbird singing his song, and it once again dawned on me: where was I? What was I going to do? Why was I in this situation in the first place. Surely I didn’t deserve this.

Those mornings brought on a gnawing, dreaded sense of anxiety. The day ahead was a huge void. As far as being a productive person earning a living, that seemed very far off somewhere in the future. Time seemed both not to exist at all, and to be endless.

At Month Nine of what at times was a pleasant and manageable interlude between what I knew would eventually take me out of this ordeal, and the stark reality of the present, I began to sense a change. Feelings of blankness, hopelessness, and encroaching depression were deepening. The evenings were my salvation. I could fix myself a hamburger and a pot of mashed potatoes, eat, then retreat to my room to read and enjoy the solace of the night ahead. I’ve always been a Night Owl, more so than ever now, all these years later. And remember, this was half a dozen years before the Internet and World Wide Web arrived on the scene along with the widespread adoption of personal computers. Job hunting and life in general would have been infinitely easier in comparison to what seemed like the primitively old-fashioned methods of job hunting that I was enduring. The Internet with all its rich offerings would have lifted me out of the darkness because I was so perfectly suited to what came with that revolutionary new technology. But that was just science fiction back then. Who could have known.

I was making no progress in the job hunt. Maybe I should again try to get a job at a community college teaching journalism. Maybe going back to work as a newspaper reporter or editor was the solution. But nothing felt right. There seemed to be nothing worth going after. My two previous careers in teaching and journalism seemed over, finis.

I didn’t leave the house much in those days except to take the life-enhancing walks I wrote about earlier. One day, however, I recall taking a drive to a wildlife and Nature preserve about 20 miles out from the city. It was a wild and beautiful place. It contained many acres of forest, marsh and swampland that could be accessed via a low boardwalk.

It was a warm Spring day. It was nice to be away from the city, but the strangest feeling descended on me that I think I’d ever experienced. It’s almost impossible to describe. Not something as bad as 12 years earlier when I struggling for a way out of a terrifying battle with clinical depression. I lost my job and was out of work due to that illness.

The experience ten years later was the closest things I can recall to a sense of disassociation, like my very self was separating ad disappearing, and would be lost. Basically, I felt that I was literally losing my mind. That’s what month after month of having no fixed guide star of hope and possibility in life can do. It’s why such terrible fates befall the long-term unemployed, people who want to rise out of their grim situations, but who can’t seem to do it. Many become homeless. Some can’t take it any more. I was getting to that point, but was in denial.

However, i was fortunate in that I had a place to live and family that loved me. I shudder to think what my experiences with depression and joblessness would have been like without them.

But I couldn’t live at my brother’s place indefinitely, though it provided the life raft that kept me from going under, that and years of the single life which hardened me to adversity and being alone.

A week or so after that strange and hallucinatory weekend outing to the nature preserve, I got an urgent call from my aunt in South Carolina who had been watching the classified ads in the newspaper religiously, apparently, and told me a small newspaper in the eastern part of the state needed an editor.

They needed someone badly, it turned out. I talked with them by phone, and within a week I was living in a small town producing a 24-page weekly community newspaper. Every skill I had learned in the business years earlier came back to me instantly. I had no time at all the worry about whether I could do the job. I had to and I wanted to.

I became immersed in the job, grateful for this new chance at life that put me in daily contact with many good and interesting people. I was starting over. Again.


Last updated February 26, 2023


A Pedestrian Wandering February 26, 2023

How important small things become when we do not dwell in the work-a-day world. I have known both disabling depression and unemplyment in my day. I'm glad you had your walks and especially your family to help keep body and soul together. I don't think we realize how easy it is to become derailed when we feel we are without purpose. It really does undermine us. Your aunt was looking out for you, and just in time.

Oswego A Pedestrian Wandering ⋅ March 01, 2023

Yes, my aunt was like my guardian angel, all of my adult life. Always there for me, no matter what. She always had a place for me to stay during my times of depression and unemployment.

Those kinds of experiences can indeed derail people and do permanent harm. It’s a harsh world out there, despite all the goodness and beauty.

music & dogs & wine February 26, 2023

"...and I was only 38 years old, in the prime of life." This actually makes me happy, as I am turning 40 this year and I am feeling sad and old about that. Where did my youth go??

I get you on the unemployed thing. I was laid off in 2011 and didn't find a job til 2014. You HAVE to find things to do every day. I started doing daily grocery shopping, instead of weekly, just so I was forced to leave the house. But then I had to start alternating grocery stores cause I saw the same people every day...the produce people would tell me hello like we were good friends, the cashiers would ask "so what are you making tonight with these ingredients??" I was like, no, I cannot be that person. So I found 4 different places to go and mixed it up.

I have told you before, you are a beautiful writer. I love reading your stories, especially your past. You really take me to where you were, I feel like I was there.

Oswego music & dogs & wine ⋅ March 01, 2023

Wise words here from your own experience! Absolutely right that it’s vital to get out at least once a day when you’re depressed or unemployed, otherwise you can wither away. My daily walks were really my salvation.

Thank you so much for the nice words about my writing. That kind of encouragement makes me want to kee on writing! 😌

music & dogs & wine Oswego ⋅ March 01, 2023

😎

Sleepy-Eyed John February 26, 2023

I should get out more.

Oswego Sleepy-Eyed John ⋅ February 26, 2023

Yes.

Sleepy-Eyed John Oswego ⋅ February 26, 2023

:)

Lady of the Bann February 26, 2023

We all need a goal or something to look forward to, a purpose for life. We also need people for varying amounts of time, while enjoying our solitariness .
I have my travels. Always at least one trip in my future. I have my house and garden and I have family. I too , have a lovely area to walk, where I appreciate its beauty. In fact,my first day of retirement, some years ago, I celebrated by going for a walk on a solitary beach. One of many near my home. Solitary because of the weather, people working and children in school.
If you are struggling, you may find a creative writing class helps. Lead one yourself if there are none in your area. You are well qualified. Or just go and join in and see where it leads.
My son Jonny is prone to depression. He walks and runs and his job at the moment is doing creative writing with kids.in deprived areas. They then asked him to take a writing group to give something back to his volunteers. He was hesitant and afraid he wasn’t up to it, as some of these people were teachers and published writers. He prepared and the classes have gone well. He has attended plenty of these classes himself, enough to know how they go. And it isn’t a class as such, but a chance to try something new and compare ideas with other people who love words.
He is still doing his course with Cambridge University in creative writing and has an assignment due just before our trip to Japan next month for his 40th birthday.

Oswego Lady of the Bann ⋅ March 03, 2023

I applaud your son’s work and creative writing endeavors. :)

Until I stopped going, I was an active attendee at a local creative writing group’s twice-monthly meetings. For the most part I enjoyed doing writing prompts and sharing my personal essays, some of which were from PB, with the group. I However, the members didn’t seem particularly taken with my brand of personal essay — I think they preferred more humorous tales. When the pandemic started I stopped going and haven’t been back. I did make a friend there, however, and we keep in touch with each other by email. And I occasionally visit with him and his wife. They are very interesting people.

I’ve never been one to put much stock in goals. It’s fine for most people, and gets them motivated, but as for me, life too often intervened in unexpected ways, and my “goals” went by the wayside. No loss really, because I believe we are fated or meant to follow certain paths, chosen or not. Right now at 72 I don’t need to plan or please anyone with my writing. I’m content to walk among the abundant areas of natural beauty where I live and write what I please. That’s why I refer to it as “personal essays.” It comes from the heart, guarded as it may number deep down, but nevertheless an essential and cathartic activity in my life. I truly don’t know how anyone cannot write. It’s like eating and breathing to me, and I’m so thankful for whatever writing abilities and experiences I have.

Thank you for your thoughtful comment! :)

Kristi1971 March 05, 2023

St. Charles Avenue - a spot on the Monopoly board! Ok, I'm reading onward.

Kristi1971 March 05, 2023

Thank you for sharing this experience. For whatever reason, I feel like I needed to read this today. :)

Oswego Kristi1971 ⋅ March 05, 2023

Thank you for reading. I hope the reason you felt you needed to read this is now known to you! Whatever that might be! :)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.