Pardon me sir, can you help me get back to the freeway? in Everything

  • July 3, 2014, 10:36 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

My car has been running a little rough or maybe I should say bumpy for the last few months. One of the joys of living in New England is/are Frost heaves. For those of you who don’t know, a frost heave is a bump that appears in the road during the winter months as the roads freeze over. Then as the weather warms the bump becomes a crater that you can actually see middle earth in. Well when you don’t see one and you hit it hard enough it can kind of f up your ride. Which I did, So I brought my car in to rotate the tires, balance and alignment. The tech told me that I dented the 2 rims on the right side of my car, hence the rough ride. I checked a few local junkyards and found a couple rims at one place south of Boston. It was only 50 miles from where I work but thanks to another one of the joys of living in New England it took me just over 2 hours to get there, I left work at 4:50 and followed the directions on my phone and pulled into their lot as they were closing at 7. Was still able to pick up 2 used rims. As I was leaving I tried to retrace my steps but because I was rushing so much to get there I made a wrong turn or two and I am definitely not on the good side of the tracks. The navigator app on my phone apparently didn’t understand me frantically yelling “get me the fuck outta the ghetto”! I was able to get out of there alive and well though, now I just gotta get the wheels put on, they are currently weight down my trunk.

I hope everyone has a happy fourth of July, and keeps all their fingers! Remember, light then run!


donut July 03, 2014

We call those "potholes". And yeah, they SUCK.

Gurly239 July 04, 2014

Hey! We have the same kinds of roads here! Sometimes I get mad at the city like "Why aren't you fixing the roads!?!?!" then I realize it's because they'd just have to do it every year anyway... and they only have about 4 months in which to get it done :P

Azrael July 06, 2014

Haha well now I'm curious, where did you get lost?

pbrman Azrael ⋅ July 07, 2014

Brockton, not all that bad but.....

Azrael July 07, 2014

Haha, I was thinking way worse!

Deleted user July 07, 2014

You using iMap? Hahaha!! Glad you're safe. You need to post more.

Palmtreesandzebras July 10, 2014

Sorry for the late reply, still getting a hang of prosebox! I didn't get the job. But cross your fingers for the others! Ohhh Boston. hahah. I'm glad you managed to make it home! And winter is hell on the cars! I lived about 45 minutes outside of Boston and some days the snow/ice was so bad there was no leaving my road!

Palmtreesandzebras July 14, 2014

Hahah. Winfield is outside of Wichita and I'm pretty sure it has a a big old population of 12,000. My friend is out there for work for 6 months and figured missed her in Cincinnati might as well try now! Plus 12,000 is a lot compared to some of the other towns we passed through with populations of 11.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.