Evie Elizabeth Drew is TWO! in Open Book

  • July 2, 2014, 4:58 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Whoa, 3 entries in a day...Sorry, but I made the time for it all today as my brain is sort of a mess.

Wow does time fly (especially after having a child)! I can't believe my baby girl is 2 years old already. As cliche as it is, it seems like "just yesterday" she was born...

I no longer have a "baby" and that is just straight up WEIRD to me. I feel like I didn't enjoy enough of her baby days...Looking back I really wish I had sought help for my PPD (though I suppose I never fully accepted I had PPD until it was "too late").

There are days I wish I had "do over" meaning I wish I could go back in time and do it all over again (because OMG, you learn so much as you go)...However, I LOVE the toddler stage (even on the most difficult of days and even through the tantrums).

She is just so much MORE fun now than she ever was as a baby. I love watching her personality, language, skills, creativity, and even body just BLOSSOM.

Even on the most difficult of days she makes me smile. Even on the days I have cried due to frustration, I have smiled and been grateful.

Being a mother really is a complicated mess of emotions. One minute I can be frustrated and annoyed, only to find that in the next minute I'll laughing and having tears of joy streaming down my face.

The last 2 years have been a roller coaster for sure but, I wouldn't change any of it. Even though there have been days I've wished I had one of those "easy babies" (ok we all know no baby is "easy" just that some of them are MUCH, MUCH EASIER than others) I am thankful for the "difficult" one I was dealt.

I have learned so much about myself, about her, the world, parenting, motherhood, friendship, patience, exhaustion, pride, marriage, family, and LIFE in general that I'm beyond grateful for this experience.

To be 100% honest, it isn't much different than I expected it to be pre-baby days...I was an EXTREMELY difficult baby/child myself. I just knew in the depth of my soul that the Universe was going to challenge me.

That is the main reason I'm so glad I had her so much later in life (even though I tried for a baby even in my early 20s).

I feel like things have happened just how they should have (even if I didn't always think so in those moments of weakness).

Language is such a weird thing...How it develops and transpires is somewhat beyond comprehension. Learning the language my 2 year old speaks is difficult. She makes up her own words for things (even though she knows the "correct" words for them).

For example...She calls milk "Kip." She calls blueberry muffins "Momos." She calls Milo "Meow." Parker is "Carp er." ALL dogs are "sissy." When she is hungry she will run to her high chair and say "eat."

Unless you spend 24/7 with her, you wouldn't have any idea what she was saying. It's funny how I can pick up on just her body language too.

Ok enough rambling...On with the pics:

6.29.14 Two Years Old.

Eva and Selena

Mimosa bar (for the adults only of course, please don't report me for serving booze to babies).

Continental breakfast bar (not fully set, this was just the start of it).

Yes, I re-used the centerpieces from the party the day before.

 photo 350_zpsf7a818c2.jpg Coffee and Tea bar

Milo

Parker

Lambycakes

Guests on the deck.

Kids love Mandy!

Ella (our newest neighbors). She is so freaking cute, she looks like a little Olsen twin but, with red hair.

Christina (former co-worker) and her little guy Tyler (born on my birthday).

Opening gifts...

She loved her Wiggles stuff.

I don't remember what was so funny, but it must have been good...

Caleb (Toddler Time friend).

Amanda and Selena

Me, Eva, and Amy (another former co-worker).

The cake Eric picked out and ordered.

Making her wish.

Mercedes (Frank's Mom and my Mom)...Of course Frank didn't come (he doesn't like Eric)...It really stinks when your longest best friend and spouse don't get along. :/

The kiddos...Milo, Eva, Caleb, Selena, and Parker (Toddler Time group).

Milo and Eva...I wouldn't be upset if they got married someday. ;)

Uncle Brian, Eva, and Nana Laurie.

Great Auntie Nancy, Eva, and Great Grandma Esther...Evie sure loves her books.

I'd say the bubble machine is by far her favorite gift EVER.

Eric, Eva, and I. I love my little family so much.


Leslie Bruce July 02, 2014

Looks like so much fun!!!!

It's Time For Me. July 02, 2014

Can't believe she is 2 already!! Looks like she had a great birthday!

dickson. July 02, 2014

<33333333 Happy birthday to the beautiful girl!!!!!!!!

ninakir88 July 02, 2014

Aww my heart smiles for you :)

Camdengirl July 02, 2014

Aw lovely pics - I love the ones with her and the bubbles!

Perpetually Plump July 02, 2014

She is such a beautiful child!! My nephew ended up with the name DaDa because a younger nephew just started calling him that one day. It took us ages to figure out why he was saying it. Now all 15 nieces and nephews call him that. Kids are odd like that. I was always amazed when I could interpet my kid via her body language. I am so bad about stuff like that, but it only takes a glance at her to know. I never figured I'd know anyone that well...

Satine July 02, 2014

The breakfast and bevs look perfect!!! Love the disney princess tent, so cool!

Small Town Girl July 02, 2014

Mimos and tea bar! Love it! Love the bubbles pictures! So cute! Damn right you reused those flowers! hahaha they turned out pretty! Looks like she had a great birthday! Glad all her friends made it! They are so cute together!

DesignSlave July 03, 2014

Happy Birthday to Miss Eva!! So much I want to say here but I'm on my phone. I love, love, love the pic of you laughing. You are so naturally radiant. I mean that. It's hard to believe she's two!!!!

Deleted user July 03, 2014

What a great birthday for your little girl. Lots for the kiddies and lots to do for the adults :) So glad a good time was had.

Deleted user July 03, 2014

Omigosh... She really does look more like a toddler in these pictures!!! She is so grown up ; ; What happened to babeh lamby cakes ; ;

So glad the party went well! SHe looks so pleased :)

Mercurial Muse July 05, 2014

Looks like a lovely party :)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.