Under the weather in Another Open Diary refugee

  • July 2, 2014, 11:13 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Not feeling well the last few days... not especially SICK... but needing ventolin overnight, tired, and icky. At least part of it is from the tropical storm offshore (is that why they call it 'under the weather'?)... it's moved away north now so I should be feeling better soon. Last night all I wanted to eat was soup, so we went to the Italian place and they didn't have any on the menu... I was going to sit there and watch him eat pizza but he asked and they had a tomato soup that was delicious. It was like eating essence of tomato, and I dipped the pizza crust in it because it didn't come with bread. Still unhungry today but John has leftover pizza to eat.This had better go away by Friday or else! NOTHING is allowed to spoil the 4th July when we've invested so much money in a special night out...

There were a couple of cop cars outside one of the empty units yesterday, and a rather pissed-off-looking landlord pacing outside. Don't know what happened but I wouldn't be surprised if somebody broke into the empty duplex and vandalised it in some way... four out of the ten units have been empty for the last month or so and they've done a lot of work on them. Two new neighbours have or are moving in this weekend. I was getting a little nervous that people kept moving out and they weren't putting anyone new into the buildings... makes me paranoid! Hopefully our a/c will work better with the attached unit occupied. We think it's trying to cool the whole roof space instead of just our half, and struggling. The bedroom turns into an oven when the sun shines on the back of the house, and it's not good when I have to lay down for at least a couple of hours a day when my back starts hurting or my sciatica kicks in, or I'm plain tired... We finally put up curtains in the bedroom on the weekend and they seem to be helping a little. John kept putting it off because of the expense (even our 'discount' curtains came out to $100 - $20 for a double rod, $20 for the voile and $40 for the outer curtain, and I need another $20 of voile when I can get back to Big Lots because it looks a lot nicer when it's more gathered.) They're not as thick as I thought they were (they didn't have any 'blackout' curtains in HomeGoods but I got the thickest-looking regular panels. They're pretty... light tan with black swirly vines on them. I think they go well in the bedroom. Now we need to buy another pair to put up on the short window, and I'll have to shorten them with curtain tape or something. Thinking of using the excess that I cut off to recover the chair and make a little skirt around the side table that the cable box is sitting on, to cover up the transformers underneath.


Silent Echo/Quiet Storm July 02, 2014

i hope you get to feeling better real soon. on hot and humid days like today and yesterday and tomorrow i don't feel much like eating. i bought light out drapes for my house last year at walmart. they keep the light and heat outside. i like them a lot. no pretty patterned drapes just one of about 8 different colors. again i hope you get to feeling better before your cruise. take car,e

Everything Good Rebecca July 02, 2014

Fixing up the house does wonders for the psyche, doesn't it? Hope you get to feeling better physically, too.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.