"No place like home." in Open Book

  • July 2, 2014, 11:44 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I want to clear up my entry from yesterday...I don't care so much about whether or not people note (we all know I've been a terrible noter as of late)...

I'm just more concerned about who I'm sharing things with and who I'm actually making connections with...This place is just so different from OD...It doesn't have that commUNITY feeling to it like OD had.

I guess what it comes down to is that I share a lot of personal things here and I want to read others that do the same. My time on here is limited and I want to make the best of it...

When I come back after a few days and start going through 50+ entries, I want to read about raw LIFE...I don't want to read 25 entries that are just a couple of sentences long talking about the weather.

I don't mind those entries from time to time (hey I'm guilty of it myself once in a while)...I actually do enjoy talking and reading about weather (especially gorgeous days) or extremes...However, when EVERY entry is like that it gets kind of boring (sorry just being honest).

I think what happened when I got to PB, I started reading a lot of "new" people (people I didn't know from OD) and would stumble upon an awesome entry and then bookmark that person and add them to my friends list...

Well I think a lot of those people have stopped updating, or only update on very limited topics with out any true substance (weather is nice, kids are good, peace out).

I don't know what exactly I'm expecting out of this place...I guess just something a little deeper. FB, Twitter, etc is for the bare basics...

I think a place like this is more for deeper thoughts...Being your true self (most of us have to hide our true thoughts and selves on other social media platforms)...I want to read more about the background stories...I get on FB and see updates of "life is good" or "life sucks."...Great...Tell me WHY life is good or why it sucks...

Also, I like this place because it brings people from all over the world together in one spot...So I want to read about other cultures and other ways of doing things...I want to read how other people LIVE.

I like the entries where people post about a current topic and share their point of view on it. I think the one thing I'm really missing about school and being in the working world is that I miss out on "current events" and how people feel about them. I kinda miss the human connectedness it can bring.

I want to read about how others problem solve and how they view the world. How they interact with those around them...

I want to read about their interests, I want to read about the places they visit (and see pics too). I guess I want a BIG window to the world...I love to "people watch" and this could be a great place for that...

I love reading about others life experiences...Their triumphs and trials. I learn a lot about humanity this way...

I like to watch life unfold...It's so full of surprises, twists, and turns...Just living and breathing is to be taking part of a giant "mystery dinner" or being a main character in a mystery novel (mystery is obviously one of my favorites)...I like suspense. I like ACTION.

I like to have my heart strings tugged once in a while too...When my friends on here cry, I often find myself crying with them. When they laugh, I laugh too.

So anyway...That is basically what I meant when I decided to clean up my bookmarks/friends list (I also don't want lurkers, so I've changed just about everything to friends only). I don't want "surface writers" taking up my personal space and overwhelming me.

I want to be a better noter too. I think by cutting down my list I won't feel so overwhelmed coming here and I'll actually take more time to write out notes instead of just flying through every entry as fast as I can (and then sometimes forgetting what I've read) just to get "caught up."

I didn't mean this to turn into a novel...I also hope this wasn't read as a negative entry (that was not my intention).


Satine July 02, 2014

I find myself deleting entries on here - I liked the old style of OD where you only saw the newest entry and could scroll back if you hadn't read the one before. Here is like a treadmill where you can fall off if you get behind!

Eriu July 02, 2014

Found you on the home page because I'm doing what you're talking about, looking for someone to read who talks about their thoughts, etc. I've also bookmarked people who seem to have disappeared, and my OD friends who moved over here don't seem to write anymore, but I have new favorites with interesting lives here. I'm searching for buried treasure in a mountain of entries.

Mercurial Muse July 02, 2014

So this entry intrigued me on the front page and I came to read the rest of it. And part of the fact that it's so difficult to find someone interesting to read is one of my biggest gripes with this site. Hopefully we'll get an interest function, which will help finding interesting writers.

nowthat'salady July 02, 2014

I agree. It's really disappointing when you click on a bookmarks entry and they only wrote a little bit, like a couple sentences. Once in awhile is fine, but when it becomes a pattern it is hard to get excited to read them anymore.

dickson. July 02, 2014

BUT THE WEATHER IS NICE HERE!

~Mrs. O~ dickson. ⋅ July 02, 2014

LOL! Part of the reason I enjoy reading you is for your humor!

dickson. July 02, 2014

Haha, sorry, that note was douchy.

kansasgirl July 02, 2014

I'm one of those people who never update. I had some things happen lately that would have made good life entries (dad having open heart surgery) I just never have gotten in the habit of writing. I do enjoy reading the people I follow though. I don't always note, but I try to sometimes. I did follow you from OD.

Leslie Bruce July 02, 2014

I agree with you. I actually wanted to write an entry about this. I recently posted a recipe in my public book, and I got a couple of noters saying "omg did you go private? do you write anymore? I always read you!". Some of them didn't even HAVE any entries. Wtf? Why would I let you read my life when you don't say anything about yours? It weirded me out, and I didn't add them. I did add the people who had their own books and entries though.

Camdengirl July 02, 2014

I guess the thing is: You want to feel like those other PBers are sharing equally - that they are giving as much as they are getting. I must admit I did a cull on OD a few times as I felt uncomfortable that people were reading my diary and then blocking me from their own.

nursegirl July 02, 2014

I'm struggling with this same issue.

ninakir88 July 03, 2014

I feel like I mostly just have people from OD that made the transition to here, I haven't added that many new people since I got PB unfortunately. I'm attached to the people I have had for years but have hard time getting into new diaries, ha.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.