How to annoy your younger brother with whom you have nothing in common (except politics, which is a pretty significant commonality) in Daydreaming on the Porch

  • Jan. 31, 2023, 11:24 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I had of a brief phone conversation earlier today with my younger brother, who was clearly exasperated into sullenness by my immediate jokiness and corny conviviality. I do like to joke around when I talk to him because he really doesn’t “get” my humor, mostly.

After asking him what he was up to, he replied that he’d just gotten back from doing some shopping at Wal-Mart.

I asked him, innocently, what he had purchased. He basically said, to the effect of, “just a bunch of nothing.”

“Oh, come on, tell me everything you bought!” I inquired brightly. (Just kidding, of course, but he thought I really wanted to know, which of course, since I like to wallow in minutia, I was sorta/kinda curious).

This all stems from an admittedly annoying habit I have of my cataloging all my purchases from Dollar Tree, which I pour out to him on the phone to his endless and rather hilarious frustration and anger.

“Oh, and do you want to know what I bought at Tuesday Morning?” (Which is right next store, so why not indulge a bit there, too?)

“NO!” he literally snarled this time.

His phone has a glitch he won’t get fixed and only works on speaker, so his partner hears whatever she wants.

So, going back to this afternoon, I asked her to tell me what he bought.

She semi plays along. “It’s really just ordinary stuff,” she kindly assured me.

“Oh, please tell me!”

By this time my brother is not only snarling, but growling, and I realized my humor is inexplicably wearing thin.

Then, to add insult to injury, I told him that I had taken some boxes of books and “things” (Dollar Tree knick-knacks, etc.) to my storage unit, and felt I could reward myself, so I bought a vintage/antique-looking clock at Michael’s craft store.

“HOW MANY CLOCKS DO YOU HAVE?” he practically yelled.

I knew at that point he once again would not understand. I won’t bother you with my answer to his question, which was a good one, and so funny. (Trying for a little levity to defuse his now intense level of exasperation).

However, when I think about it, I am a bit embarrassed about the reason I got this particular clock. Suffice it to say, it was quite indicative of just how peculiarly eccentric I am, but in a good way, of course.

Okay, I’ll explain. I’m one of those people who rarely if ever looks at the time on his phone. I have to have a watch on when I’m out and about. In my apartment, I need small, battery-powered clocks in every room so I can always see what time it is. I had two in the living room, until the other day when I got that third vintage clock.

I have a coffee table between two sofas that are perpendicular to each other. A clock faces me about five feet away so I can easily see the time when I’m sitting on that sofa. However, I spend the bulk of my time when in the living room lying comfortably reading on the other sofa, my head resting on a large and very comfortable pillow. The only problem was, I couldn’t see the clock, which faced the other direction toward the first sofa I mentioned.

How to solve the dilemma? The answer came like a flash of genius. I would simply buy another small clock, around the same size, and put it back to back with the first clock so that when I got up from one sofa and went to lie down on the other one, I wouldn’t have to turn the first clock around to face me when I was all nice and comfy.

I told my brother all this and was met by silence on the other end. He was suddenly speechless, for some odd reason.


Jinn February 01, 2023

Yikes! He is a grouch. I have an embarrassment of clocks because I just like them. Particularly those that chime. Half the time I don’t get them set right except particular ones . We all have our quirks.
I love the Dollar Tree , which is now The Dollar Twenty -Five . I get all my cleaning supplies there , laundry soap pods, plastic storage dishes, fabric softener sheets, powdered bleach, toothpaste, baby bath, deodorant, paper towels, toilet paper , Kleenex, seal bags, hand soap , pots for plants, sharpie fine point pens 🖊️. The list goes on and on . I like it !

Oswego Jinn ⋅ February 01, 2023

Love your very practical list. Mine ranges over most of the store and includes a mix of the useful and the totally impulse buying kinda stuff it’s so easy to throw into my basket because each item is only $1.25!😳I’ve also gotten some good books there for they price, though I’m not quite sure where they are now. Lol. And then there’s always the little boxes of seasonal chocolates, etc.

Jinn Oswego ⋅ February 01, 2023

I forgot books ! I have found some good ones there too. And those little candy bars. :-)
The little frozen egg rolls are pretty good with sweet chili sauce.

Sleepy-Eyed John February 01, 2023

I annoy my brother too haha. I don't think some people find shopping lists all that entertaining though, but sometimes someone's a good sport anyway.

Oswego Sleepy-Eyed John ⋅ February 01, 2023

It depends on the store. A Wal-mart or Dollar Tree shopping list or itemized receipt is much more interesting than a plain old grocery store receipt, though grocery lists do provide much raw data for sociological research! 🧐

ConnieK February 01, 2023

Make a list of "safe" topics to talk about when you call him next time. What is he interested in?

Oswego ConnieK ⋅ February 02, 2023

That’s a good suggestion. I know I can always have a good convo about politics with him. That topic always brings us closer because our views are pretty near identical, but I’m probably a bit more left-leaning than he is.😳🥹

Deleted user February 02, 2023

LOL! I almost wish I had a younger sibling to annoy thusly. 😄

Oswego Deleted user ⋅ February 04, 2023

Oh my goodness! That would be a fine mess! Lol

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.