I'm tired in Public

  • Jan. 25, 2023, 8:41 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

That is the story of my life. I am always tired. I get up at 6am, leave the house around 6:30 and get home around 5pm, sometimes later. I normally am asleep on the couch by 6pm. I’m a whole lotta fun.

Regardless of all this sleepiness I am so fulfilled in my job. I wish I could be as fulfilled in my life outside of school but the tiredness ruins all the fun things I could be doing with my dog and husband.

I have 145 students, currently, broken into 6 periods of Ancient History. This year we’ve covered Basic Geography, Early Humans, Mesopotamia, Egypt and Africa, The Hebrews, and Ancient India. I’ve taught lessons centered around migration, wars, and religions. My class is not state tested so I get to do fun projects like designing our own sarcophagi and building pyramids and creating lotus flowers of information. We’ve learned about Hammurabi’s Code and debated the fairness of the 282 laws, and we struggled to comprehend the 5 themes of geography.

I work with a pretty good team of educators and I have a wonderful mentor teacher who has been so helpful. I have a teacher bestie from my 6th grade building and one from the 7th grade building as well.

I’ve created a care cart which has been filled several times over by generous tiktok and family donors. The kids in my school straddle the poverty line and some are homeless or not food secure so my friends and I provide semi-healthy but tasty treats along with several hygiene products for girls and boys.

Honestly, this is the best job I’ve ever had.

Health-wise I am nervous. Something was on my last MRI in September. I saw the new neurosurgeon in November and I have another MRI in early February. We think it’s tumor regrowth. Which ticks all the boxes for my current symptoms. My head still hurts almost daily and I sleep in a separate bed from Liam most nights now. It doesn’t help that I am ready to sleep before 730 most nights (it’s after 830 now and Liam has already commented that it’s late for me). Part of the tired is dealing with 144 11/12 year olds plus one 8th grader who needs this course to move onto high school.

So thats why I don’t read, or write, on here. I want to but I don’t take electronics to bed anymore so it’s hard to keep up. When I am feeling good we are doing things and making the most of the healthy times. I am certain I will need some kind of radiation therapy, maybe proton, in the nearer future than we initially hoped.

Also my christmas tree is still up and the last time it took me this long to take it down was 2020 when my tumor was fastly growing. So… who knows.

Anywhoozles I will try to catch up with what I’ve missed over the last 6 months.


Deleted user January 25, 2023

You are a good wife, a good mother, and a wonderful person to your students. You give much in life. Without they’re saying so aloud. I’m sure many people appreciate you.

FragileGlass January 25, 2023

🤗 big hugs

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.