Yeah it's been a while... again... in The start of something?

  • June 29, 2014, 10:28 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Just thought I'd write about what I've been up to in the last few months in case anyone is still interested. I haven't even logged into this site... I don't spend time on my computer like I used to and just get the odd facebook update via my phone.

Ok ... renovations are well underway!!! I mostly have my new kitchen but there are a few things to be fixed up. Hubby is not happy with the workmanship. Neither am I. The guy works hard but doesn't care if he does a bad job. When hubby points out the things he's not entirely happy about (in a nice way) the guy just shrugs and says "yeah I can do that" but we're paying him via the hour so it'll cost us.... and he has been very cheap... but like I say to hubby, you get what you pay for. He wanted something on the cheap and that's what we have.

Having said that, unless you're a builder or into those sorts of things you're probably not going to notice.... so overall I'm happy and it has been at a good price so, whatever... but it has been stressful here at times.

(As an example, he painted the side of our staircase and left old paint drips stains there instead of sanding them out first... when hubby said he wasn't happy with it the guy said he sanded and sanded but it wouldn't come out.. I find that impossible to believe... it wasn't sanded at all!! you can see that!!)

In the past few months hubby and I have been to Hawaii (Honolulu) and New Zealand.

Hawaii was good. The weather was gorgeous!!! I loved wearing flowers in my hair... but I was shocked at how dated everything was . It's like they just don't want to leave the 70's... From the airport to restaurant furniture everything is dated!!! I found it so shocking.. and it's expensive.. I was told it would be, but still was shocked. When hubby and I were in the states four years ago, I found food especially to be so cheap... but in Honolulu the prices were comparable to Aussie prices... the difference being, their wages are still low while our wages here are higher... so I wouldn't want to be living there that's for sure...

We did lots of fun things and I put photos on facebook...

New Zealand was ok.. Southern hemisphere so it was back to Winter... we stayed with hubby's sister who confirmed that yes, she is in a relationship with a woman. We suspected this for years and hubby always called her the brother he never had.... Although she married and had children she always had "special close" friendships with women. I'm glad she felt she could tell us about it however she is not in a good place right now. This relationship has been going on for over 5 years but she wants out right now... but she can't say it to her girlfriend because she's also going through marriage separation and doesn't want her ex husband to find out she was in a lesbian relationship as he could make trouble in all sorts of ways.... she also has no money and her savings are almost out (yet she refuses to look for work) So it was a pretty depressing week there... we actually went and stayed south for a couple of days just to get out of the house... I feel so sorry for her and hope it works out... hubby tried to talk to her about getting work (he had to go do it at an advanced age too... it can be scary) but I don't think she's going to do it...

So I was happy to be back home. I don't go back to work until Thursday. I'm really enjoyed being home and can't say I'm enthused about going back even though I love my job.

One of hubby's other sisters,the one who lives in the same city as us, is also having relationship trouble.... so there's a lot of depression around us but we're trying to keep it all up.

On an entirely different note,I'm right into House Rules this season... Interesting to read all the "controversy" about the contestants owning other properties etc... I don't think much of it is true but even so, the rules don't say anything about contestants having other properties.... it's a renovating show for godsakes! I want Adam and Lisa to win. They seem the most genuine.

That's it for this installment...


whowhatwhere June 30, 2014

Good to see an entry from you!

Satine June 30, 2014

Hello!

ermentrude June 30, 2014

Hello lovely! I haven't seen your photos on Facebook!! I'll have to come and look, it really bugs me when they don't put things in my news feed!

Sounds like you're having a good time :-) come back more often! X

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.