You want me to respect you as management? in Tales of Employment.

  • June 28, 2014, 6:22 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Before I start let me get you all set up with context on some of the terms. Pull- Inventory from the back to go on shelves Backstock- locating items in the back, so we know what we have and are able to pull for the shelves SDA- Suspect Date Audit (checking items' dates) EXF- A list of items scanned to be pulled shot by a worker Reshop- Items that customers decided not to get, to be put back on shelves Smart Huddle- a task for the whole crew to take care of in the morning Priority Pulls- Locations without items-needed to be restocked QMOS-The process of registering the out of dates to be tossed in the system and tossing them away.

Alright, ladies and gentlemen. I have some ranting about work for you all.

So, let's talk about the store manager. What should we call him. How about Manny? Manny is the store manager, and quite frankly I believe his job description must read something along the lines of, "Do nothing, walk around, get in the way, and make everyone else's jobs as difficult as possible." Why do I say this about Manny? Well, for starters....NOBODY on the floor can stand him. We all agree that all he does is get in the way and pull us away from important shit to do stupid tasks that would have taken him 5 seconds. Instead he gets us to do it, and wastes both of our time doing something that he could have done quickly. Stupid. Let's start with some of my coworkers.

[All names are being changed obviously.] So this co-worker we will dub Mickey. I was on my break going to get food, and Mickey was pushing a pull from the back, and I talked to him for a bit while he worked. He was tasked by Manny to push the Priority Pulls that he shot. Mickey did that....and wouldn't you know it. Most of the things scanned by Manny were already stocked. So it was all backstock. So basically, he shot a bunch of bullshit to make it look like he did something. Mickey expressed how Manny, told him that that was impossible. Well, I saw for myself...it was clearly bullshit. Blatantly. He agrees with me about Manny, entirely.

Now let's talk about Atom. Atom is a backgroom guy. So he pulls all of the Pulls and backstocks and what not. He and I discussed Manny in the cooler for a little bit, and he had plenty to say about how "Once you accept that Manny exists to complicate our lives you'll cope better." He told me about how many time Manny had told him to do certain pulls faster, because they are timed and the store's score is low in the district. Well, what incentive is there for Atom to do those over the Pulls...that are also timed. He doesn't get a raise, or anything like that. That score that he refers to makes the superiors look good, not us lowly grunts that actually make it happen. Atom and I agree that management should, and this is key, LEAD BY EXAMPLE. Entering a Management position of any kind at any level....doesn't give you a pass to stand there and supervise without helping. It means you have more responsibility not less. Duh. You shouldn't have time to just stand around. You should be everywhere and anywhere help is needed, and check in and communicate. Delegate.

So now on to my frustration with good ol' Manny. Well, let's start with the other day. Now this will probably reflect poorly upon my place of employment, but it's the truth and I am honest with you people completely. So if you are human you probably have bought milk before. Safe assumption. Well, early one day (after a visit from some corporate lady) Manny asked me to scrub the floors of the cooler under the milk racks. Wanna know why? Because milk has been caked on under there for so long that it is literally layered. It's disgusting. It hasn't been cleaned in...oh at least since I have been there. Not once since I have been there. And you all know I am going to change that. So I scrubbed the shit out of the floors for a good, 3 hours. Got as much as I could up...granted there are a few spots that were just soooo bad, that I couldn't get it. They will take a little extra time to actually get clean clean. Well I scrubbed the hell out of that floor. I got 98% of that shit up and spotless. Which was a fucking task. I don't know how many of you have cleaned milk that has been caked on somewhere or seen what it looks like, but it's really bad. I did that, and then later that day...literally on my way out. I get asked if I cleaned the milk....I scrubbed the floors as I was asked because I had a lot of other shit to do, and it is NOT a task that should be done while the store is open...ya know? But I did that. Well apparently the fronts of the milk racks is gross too. I never had much of a chance to look at that side of them...BECAUSE I WAS ON MY HANDS AND KNEES SCRUBBING THE FLOORS. Well, I basically got bitched at about those...Of course....me and my immediate superior are the ONLY 2 people that have noticed how gross it is and have been trying to get something done about it, but we continue to be pulled to do other shit, and are constantly backed up in the back cooler/freezer that we don't have time or room to do it. Well, we are handling it now. I mean that shit hasn't been cleaned in a LOOOONNNGG time. And it figures I would be the one to get bitched at about it. I have wanted to take just one full day to just clean the fuck out of that back cooler for awhile. Have me come in and do an overnight shift of nothing but cleaning. That's what I want to do...because that's disgusting and I wouldn't buy milk there. Fuck no. Well, so I got bitched at a bit about that. And one of the tasks I got pulled away to do after scrubbing the floors was help, let's call him Pedro, get reception ready for the visit that happened later that day. I helped him get pretty damn set. Well, one of the other chiefs in this tribe full of chiefs, was helping too, and over the walkie Manny chimes in, "Kyle did you do the SDAs today" Now OF course I did. I do that shit before we even open...because that's a priority type task. So I answered, and then the other superior let's call him Diego. Diego said, " You should answer back, 'Do you know how to find the SDAs'" Now he said this, because the SDAs have their own individual app on the PDA, and on the main screen of that app it has "Salese Floor. Backroom. Short Date" And under those headers it says X number of X tasks completed. All he had to do was look at the app. A pointless use of the walkie.

So let's get to this morning. So I get there at 6, and I do my usual routine. Deal with the bread table, SDAs, and QMOSing the out of dates, and checking all the endcaps. Well, my immediate superior...let's call him Arrow, wanted me to clean some of the front milk racks before 8. Now after the morning bit, I had maybe...half an hour roughly to clean what I could. So I do that, and get cleaned up before going to the huddle. And we do a smart huddle, of dishing out reshop from the night before. So I grab a cart....it's supposed to be a team thing, where everyone helps, but in reality it was me and a couple other people. So I am dishing out the reshop from the cart I grabbed, and I look over and Manny is literally just STANDING THERE. Doing absolutely nothing. Literally...standing there....watching us work. I get the whole supervision thing, but supervise and help get shit done at least. I assure you your subordinates will respect, and appreciate you, and get shit done far more if you actually do shit, instead of stand around and act like you are doing anything. You get paid far more than us, so get off your ass and do something. Well, after I finish up my reshop he calls me on the walkie...I am literally 2 feet away, which he was clearly aware of cus I just talked to him. And he asks me, "What are you 4 responsibilities in the morning?" I answered correctly, "Bread table, SDAs, QMOS, and endcaps." Now he tried to correct me and say SDAs first...No...we do SDAs second, because we get the bread table off, and then do the SDAs to get all of the out of dates in one spot, to do the QMOS before 7:00 ish so that what ever gets tossed, shows up on the next Pull so that we replenish the shelves. And then we check the endcaps. Well, I did ALL of those things, and still managed to clean some of the milk racks before we opened at 8. Well, I do the reshop then when he pulls me aside, and I correct him on the process and he bitches about the endcaps...Wanna know something Manny? The endcaps were fine. They were fully stocked minus maybe one item in a few spots. I don't have time to constantly maintain completely stocked shelves that one item away from capacity. That shit is impractical. Nothing would get done if I did that. So I just left them the way they were. I know what my god damn job is, and I do it damn well. I get praised left and right about how much better shit has gotten because of me and Arrow. And this lazy ass dipshit is going to talk to me like I know nothing while he stands around doing jack shit? Fuck off. Now later on I was pushing some stuff from the freezer because it's backed up because out of sight out of mind to Manny. He never looks at the cooler or freezer so he has no idea what the back ones look like. As long as what can be immediately seen is good, he doesn't care because it makes him look good, when he doesn't do a god damn thing. He apparently peeked into the cooler and saw ONE cart of push. I was in the middle of pushing shit at the time, so why bother me with shit that I know is there, and am working towards. I can't be a million places at once. I am one man, with a limited amount of time to do a bunch of shit, and I know what I have on my plate. I am a damn good worker. I don't need some lazy fuck wasting my time with the obvious and pulling me away to do retarded shit he could have gotten handled much faster if he had done it himself. So, add on to the Mickey tale. About Manny shooting an EXF and what not to have pulled and claiming it's impossible for it all to be backstock, well. We were backed up as hell in the freezer and I wanted to get that caught up...but in my passing by I see him shooting the freezers. I knew he was going to call me and say he shot an EXF and to push it when it gets pulled. Well. I was right. And the shit didn't get pulled until 30 minutes before I leave. So I grab it and push it and only got a little bit done on what I wanted to, and well...guess what. Maybe one item in each location could go out. He fucking shot a bullshit EXF to try and justify his job. So in his act to make it look like he does something he wasted the backroom team member's time, my time, and his own time to push nonsense. Why? How is that responsible management. Oh wait it's not. Fucking idiot. But he is my superior so he says jump I say how high. Fucking ridiculous. Whenever I find a kennel that I can be a manager at I will NEVER be that kind of fucking manager I will be on the front lines. Know why? Because it is the grunts that get shit done and make the business. Not the management. The grunts do the work. Without the grunts you have nothing. Because clearly you aren't going to do it.

Bright side, at least now I am being allotted time to actually get the milk shit clean. Fucking disgusting. Why is it that when I get to this position they bitch about it, when they never did before...and it's been that disgusting for awhile. Why didn't they make that a priority before? Don't worry. Kyle will handle it. That's all I do is handle all your people's shit. At least I get recognized by my fellow grunts.

King out. On to the next entry.


Reading_Blankie 📚 June 30, 2014

I'm sorry this Manny dude is such a dousche!! I have dealt with plenty of women like Manny in my type of work; cooperate as well. It's a joke, honestly! I mean we do so much and we get paid so little and they keep piling shit on us. Kay enough of my ranting... Is there someone that you can complain to about him? You and your coworkers document what he does, etc?

Hang in there!!!

TheKing Reading_Blankie 📚 ⋅ June 30, 2014

We all are well aware of his bullshit, and we do these "Best Team Surveys" to give our opinions as grunts on how the leads are doing. EVERYONE that I talk to regularly gave poor reviews of his position. Nobody likes him, nobody believes he will be around for too too long. He got there after me. But hopefully the team reviews him so poorly they do something about it. Not much you can do about it really. We all know it, but at the end of the day he's essentially the highest ranking person there. So not much doable. I mean there's the "anonymous call line" where you can call and say shit. But, I doubt that works at all. So whatever. I do my shit. My fellow grunts recognize and appreciate what I do. Which is more than my previous job did. (Not sure if I ever really wrote about that old job on this site.)

It's bullshit. The grunts make the scores and shit happen....the leads/management should delegate and help and supervise, but supervise and work. You're not chaperoning a jr high dance...you are at grown up work so fucking do it.

This is nothing compared to my previous job. I wasn't even recognized for all the shit I did there. Or thanked really, except by the few people that I deemed good employees and good people.

I really just want to manage my own kennel lol

How are you doing?

Reading_Blankie 📚 TheKing ⋅ July 02, 2014

Aaaah. Work trauma, work trauma everywhere!! I think in some people when they become management they feel the "power" and get a thrill out of bossing people around and making their lives miserable. Not all of them are like this, just most of them. I should have been smart and started documenting stuff on some of my managers because they were sooo discriminating against me, but I didn't.

  • it sounds like this Manny dude hopefully won't last very long. I'm hoping not.
  • things are okay over here. I just feel as if I am being pulled in every direction and I am surrounded in a world of chaos. I think I just need to hide in bed for a while and then I will be okay... heehee.

  • TheKing Reading_Blankie 📚 ⋅ July 02, 2014

    I don't understand that though. It's power...but it's responsibility more so. A higher position means more on your plate. Not less. So how can you be sooooo lazy and do sooo little, when you have more shit to handle. Right? Maybe I have an understanding or something, because I have always worked from the lowest position and earned my way up, and learned from the bottom up. Oh I could easily document my time at the kennel. Have I recounted all that stuff to this site yet?

    I hope he won't be.

    Sometimes all you need is a little break. A day to just lay in bed. I did that the last time I had 2 days off and let me tell you. I felt AMAZING afterwards lol

    You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.