Not a new computer in OLD

  • Jan. 7, 2023, 4:03 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I am fighting to type each line here, because I don’t have a new computer and I could have one…it’s just that I haven’t had the energy to deal with the change out. Maybe it is my age, but dealing with the purchase and worry about the off keel scroll element here being passed on to the new one has me avoiding the purchase. I must force myself to do what is needed, however. It is cooler here today. I haven’t needed the heat on for a long time, and only one afternoon turned on the air conditioning for a few hours. That should make the December bill look very good. Today my new walking stick arrived. It’s oak, not too heavy and just my height. I also ordered a steps watch…I am hoping these two items will entice me outside more often. It’s such a lovely suburb to walk in–most streets have sidewalks and all curve around to intersect.

There’s a new white and brown cat roaming the neighborhood. Most of the homes were built in the 60s. Not a cookie cuter patch of homes, but diverse architecture. Old trees and deeply set in plants. Young families but ones, for the most part, having children when in their 30s. Elders spread here and there.

I’m going tomorrow to drop all my subscriptions to magazines, news papers…no… keep the NYTimes. I don’t read others closely, and could pick an important news edition up from a store nearby if I couldn’t find adequate coverage on line or TV.

I watched two movies on TV today. Also I called and spoke to a shut in that I try to speak to weekly. We’ve never met, but I was matched with her by an organization for elders who want to remain in their homes while aging.

Life alone here is quiet and a canvas for all I am interested in day to day.


hippieheart January 07, 2023

Hi there! I just stumbled across your entry and recognized your name from OD. I had been wondering where you went and how you're doing. I enjoy your writing.
I can understand your hesitation for getting a new computer. It could be a new adventure and a relief. I hope you're well.

ODSago hippieheart ⋅ January 08, 2023

thanks for this note

Zipster January 09, 2023

I call that "tech reluctance". I remind myself that we stay young by challenging ourselves, but oh I do find that challenging. But always after I've gone thru the learning curve I am glad I did.

ODSago Zipster ⋅ January 14, 2023

true

noko January 11, 2023

The reasonable weather and the walking stick sound like a useful and good combination. I think even a 10 minute stroll out and about can be helpful. You might be able to figure out where that cat lives.

Serin January 16, 2023

I make a living with computers and it does not make me any more excited to set up a new one. Though if the computer is in your way, that might be the friction that makes setup worthwhile?

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.