January 1 in 2023

  • Jan. 1, 2023, 1:16 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Happy New Year!

I haven’t the energy to do the entire survey, though I do love reading about everyone’s 2022 experiences and 2023 goals. I’m not really setting resolutions for this year, just a few intentions - more exercise, less takeout.

And lots of giving myself permission to say no. In fact, I’m about to write an email to the robotics club mentors letting them know I will not be setting up the parent booster club. I was willing to help if all they needed was someone to organize parents (driving to events, collecting dues, etc.) but I’m NOT down for fundraising and bookkeeping in any form.

Not my circus, not my monkeys. I want to focus on me this year, not take on everyone else’s nonsense. I can’t fix it all and I shouldn’t have to.

We had a fairly uneventful new year’s eve. We did 2nd Xmas with Rob’s family, and it was weirdly tense but the food was good and the kids had fun. We got home around 10:30pm, shot off the fireworks I’d gotten at the grocery store, watched the last quarter of the Peach Bowl, and went to bed at a reasonable hour. I stayed up til almost 1am because there were still lots of fireworks going off and my boxer dog gets REALLY anxious. I gave her some benadryl and she sat on the couch with me until I couldn’t keep my eyes open.

Today we’re taking it easy. I’ll cook the traditional new year’s day dinner (pork roast, cornbread, collard greens, and black eyed peas) but that’s about it as far as plans.

I’m happy to say I reached my 2022 reading goal of 100 books, but that was damn stressful and my 2023 goal is going to be 50. I want to enjoy more reading and not feel rushed or behind schedule! My anxiety brain is bad enough without personal deadlines like that.

I hope everyone’s 2023 is off to a good start. I hope it’s a quiet, uneventful year, but I recognize that’s probably too much to ask for.


Honor January 01, 2023

I am so so so impressed with the 50 goal so the 100 goal is just bonkers. I keep trying to read more, but I am finding it impossible.

-d January 02, 2023

Happy New Year!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.