Playing the System... in Chapter 5 : End of the First...

  • June 27, 2014, 10:53 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

So…

I finally got round to my booking appointment with the midwife. Her name is Gillian and she seems nice enough. Nicer than my last two anyways. I knew this time round I wanted a scan before the 12 week mark, as last time my anxiety level was through the roof with not knowing if everything was ok or not, so I spoke to some Mummy friends, and learned how to get one without tempting fate. I knew that I wouldn’t qualify for a reassurance scan, and I simply am not going to say that I’ve experienced bleeding or extreme pain when I haven’t, that’s just tempting fate. So I asked around and found the answer to my non-problem and told the midwife I didn’t know when my LMP was, that I hadn’t really been tracking them since I was on the pill. This way I get to see my little bean next Thursday, rather than having to wait another 6 weeks and having to deal with the paranoia and worry that comes with every twitch, cramp or pain. If I’m scanned next Thursday then that’ll be me 7w 1d by my LMP, which doesn’t necessarily make me 7w 1d, but it does mean I’ll be able to see a heartbeat (fingers crossed) and be able to not worry quite as much for the 5 week leading up to my 12w scan.

I told David we have a scan next week…I understand that he has a job but the response I was looking for wasn’t

”Aye well I’m probably working that day.”

Errr, no big yin, I think what you’re meaning to say is

”I think I’m working that day but I’ll speak to my manager so that I can try to be there.”

I don’t think he realises that I’m serious when I say one fuck up and he’s out. At this rate I don’t see him making it as far as the birth. If he does’t make this one or the 12 week one then he will be quite unceremoniously kicked to the kerb. I won’t make a big deal or a scene, I just won’t bother inviting him to the 16 week check where we’ll hear the heartbeat for the first time, or to the 20 week scan where we’ll (hopefully) learn the gender or to the 36 week scan or to the birth....instead I’ll wait for him to contact me before telling him to fuck off and stop wasting my time.

I’ve been told that due to my BMI (oh fuck off) that I’ll be getting tested for Gestational Diabetes at 28 weeks. Oh wonderful, that should be fun. So lots of appointments for me this time apparently. Here’s hoping that this one’s an easier baby to carry than Bub was.
Speaking of carrying, I’ve realised that realistically I only have maybe a couple of months left of carrying Bub before I get too pregnant to be comfortable carrying his 30lb tush all over town so tomorrow I’m off to a baby market to see if I can’t find a cheap stroller for him…I’m not exactly thrilled about this as I planned to carry him until he was 4. Don’t get me wrong, once Pidge is here I will probably revert back to carrying one , but it will probably be Pidge that gets carried whilst Bub walks, mainly because I don’t believe in having them in strollers for extended periods of time. Oh well, I suppose it’s just going to be 4 years of carrying Pidge then.


Last updated January 14, 2018


Etoile Filante June 27, 2014

You can have one on the front and one on the back! I've seen women do it at the sling meets xXx

Princess Pitbull.com Etoile Filante ⋅ June 29, 2014

Yeah there's no way in Hell that I'm tandem carrying a toddler and a squish :D that's far more work than necessary :D if he was 6 months younger I would consider a double pram but he'll just walk lol. That's why he has legs :D xx

Katie Kizzle June 27, 2014

Weird. Here they test you for GD automatically no matter your bmi.

Princess Pitbull.com Katie Kizzle ⋅ June 29, 2014

It may just be my at my GP Surgery but you only get a test if you're "at risk" or showing symptoms. xx

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.