Winter may be over? in A small but passable life.

  • Dec. 24, 2022, 2:17 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Yeah, the last couple of weeks have been harsh. High’s in the fifties and lows in the thirties. Yesterday warmed up to 68 degrees. It may be 70 or more tomorrow.

The water heater I’d taken out of here and put in the trailer has just crapped out. Lukewarm. Last months electric usage had been crazy high. I thought it was just the electric heaters but that didn’t compute with what was used last year for the same period (32kWh vs, 7kWh!). Maybe a little cooler this year (58.4 degrees vs. 67 degrees average) but not that much. So maybe it was the water heater just remaining on, trying to heat up? Anyway, I just flipped the switch to “off”. Since all I need hot water for is doing the dishes once a day I may just replace the 20 gallon tank heater with a tankless “instant” water heater. I found one on Amazon for $90. I’m in no hurry. Oh yeah, looking at the statement, electric cost went from $1.35 per kWh in 2021 to $3.82 per kWh in 2022.

So yeah, I may be returning to the pool today. It’s been awhile.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.