12/23/2022 in Journal

  • Dec. 24, 2022, 12:30 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

My husband and I have been texting his son, my stepson, every couple months without any response. He’s turning 16 in a few days. Our relationship has always been this way. We’ll call him and he won’t answer or call us back. It has been like a year since I’ve seen him.

Well, on thanksgiving he texted me, “happy thanksgiving, how are you?” And I responded with a happy thanksgiving back and asked him what he has been up to lately. And then nothing…

A week ago he texted my SIL and told her wanted to come stay the night the 23-25th and he knows that we are staying at my SIL’s house right now. But he didn’t tell his dad.. he hasn’t heard from his son since thanksgiving too. But prior to that we didn’t talk to him since summer.

So, now his mom is texting my SIL trying to arrange transportation plans when she should’ve been discussing this with his dad instead. It’s just such a headache. We didn’t even know if he was coming or not coming because communication has been spotty and he’s pretty notorious for flaking so we didn’t get him anything for Christmas.

To be honest, I forget about him sometimes. It’s hard to keep him in my mind when he chooses not to engage or have a relationship with us. We even forget to send child support checks a lot of the times. None of us got him a gift for Christmas or his birthday, which is the day after Christmas.

But tomorrow we have plans to go to my parents’ house and do gift exchange and eat and hang out. I’m also looking forward to meeting my newborn niece!

Last night it was sleeting and we woke to a weird ice world. Everything was covered in solid ice. The chickens came out of the coop sliding sideways. It was really funny to watch. Tomorrow is supposed to be much warmer and I hope it melts or we won’t be able to go. Everyone in the neighborhood has had problems today getting in and out. It is very slick.

Hope you all have a relaxing Christmas Eve.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.