Healthier diets, cancer screenings and the vicissitudes of getting older in Daydreaming on the Porch

  • Dec. 18, 2022, 2 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I will probably steam some broccoli tonight and open a can of tuna. Plus, some leftover canned stewed okra and tomatoes and a slice of 100 percent whole wheat bread with raspberry jam. For dessert, half a blueberry scone heated in the micro and served with butter and maybe some pumpkin spice butter. Then, of course, the obligatory little piece of dark chocolate. UNLESS I ditch that menu and scurry over to Chipotle for a delicious chicken burrito!

My sister and brother both gave me stern lectures about my diet after my second colonoscopy in two months. Four polyps total were removed, one relatively large and, shall we say, harder to remove and more worrisome, although the doctor did not tell me much or indicate any special concern. The polyp was benign, but this still was not so good an outcome, and is probably what I get for waiting two years past the time I was due for the procedure, which I dread. Five years instead of three.

But the alternative is, of course, much worse. So I likely had a close call, and shouldn’t have delayed so long, but Covid and quarantines popped up at the same time I was due for the procedure, and also it was during the last few months my mother was alive, and as her full-time caregiver, I was intensely focused on her well being and not much else.

My siblings are both excellent cooks, and ANY processed food of ANY kind is anathema to them, They wince when I regale them with excited tales of my latest frozen dinner finds — no preservatives, I tell them, but it matters not.

As a concession to my sister, I bought two fresh, uncooked sweet potatoes to microwave, plus a container of greens for salads, as well as a couple of fresh pears, not the canned kind, which I don’t buy often, but which are really good if you drain all the sugary water or juice out of the can first.

They even frown on plant-based burgers. Can you imagine? But it’s absolutely no use arguing with them. They are purists about fresh ingredients, but I absolutely, unequivocally, abhor cooking and spending any more time in the kitchen than is minimally necessary.

The other day I was in the grocery store, and as is my wont was quickly scanning covers of outrageously priced magazines when I spotted one titled, something to the effect of, “Quick and Easy Plant-Based Meals.” Eureka!! That’s just what I need!

Then I flipped through the magazine and within five seconds was overwhelmed by the photos of delicious, enticing dishes, but with an unfathomable mix of familiar and exotic ingredients that would require some very serious, onerous grocery shopping over days to acquire even half of what was called for in those tempting colorful meals, glaring smugly at me from the confines of their fantasy magazine homes.

“Quick and easy?” HA! That has got to be one of the biggest cons of a magazine title that I have ever seen. No thank you.

Then I told my brother how there might be a nice vegan restaurant near me, and that I could get take out several days a week from there, freeing me from the need to cook or even microwave anything at home. One restaurant take-out meal would last two nights. Voila! Problem solved.

My brother just laughed. “Yeah, yeah, in two weeks time you will be so sick of that routine you’ll be begging for frozen dinners again.”

Okay, maybe he’s right, but I can at least give it a try.

Moral of the story: Please get regular colonoscopies when the doctor says to, and eat healthy, fresh food and whole grains when you can and avoid the too-frequent weekly, gooey cinnamon rolls from the grocery deli and those little container cups of mixed fruit, even if they are actually fruit. Eat only fresh fruit, I am told.

One final note: This entire diatribe was set in motion when I read that a friend was getting ready to cook some carrots and broccoli. This facilitated a cascade of Proustian memories and associations, which I had to turn into a whimsical personal essay to quell some of my guilt about the way I eat and to take the edge off such serious topics as diet, mortality and sibling differences.

Not to mention that this is all a natural part of aging, right?


Last updated December 18, 2022


music & dogs & wine December 18, 2022

I know you don't like to cook. I highly recommend getting an Instant Pot! I really love mine and there are so many things you can make it in that don't require too many ingredients!

This is my favorite site that I use for the IP.

https://www.pressurecookrecipes.com/

You can definitely Google other recipes as well. It's super easy to use and you can have a great meal with little effort! I wish you lived near me, I would happily bring you leftovers! My my boss currently reaps the benefits of my cooking, I bring him lunch all the time!

ALSO K had to go on a vegan diet for a bit, we still use the vegan butter and mayo, they are just as good as the normal ones, and better for you :)

Oswego music & dogs & wine ⋅ December 18, 2022

That Instant Pot really sounds feasible, even for someone as lazy about cooking as me, but it still involves more than one ingredient, which starts getting overly complicated for me! Lol

I will definitely look into it further, but in the meantime, I carefully look at all the frozen dinners at the grocery store whenever I’m there in hopes I will find the perfect healthy diner that I can eat several times a week and never get tired of!! 🥹😳

Sleepy-Eyed John December 18, 2022

The struggle is real!

I hope to live in an area with good take-out, and a grocery store near-by, at some point in the future.

Oswego Sleepy-Eyed John ⋅ December 18, 2022

I am near five very good take out restaurants (five minutes away).

Deleted user December 22, 2022

Was that the Forks Over Knives Quick and Easy Plant-Based Meals? https://shop.forksoverknives.com/products/quick-easy-recipes-special-issue-forks-over-knives-magazine

I have that. Forks Over Knives is the healthiest you can get with plant-based because the recipes are all vegan and don't use oil or processed ingredients, but I wouldn't recommend it for people who aren't foodies, don't enjoy cooking, or are beginners in the kitchen, exactly beecause of your reaction to it. I recommend a book by America's Test Kitchen called Vegan for Everybody. It has regular ingredients that you can pick up in a chain grocery store. Take a flip-through at a bookstore and if you like it, Amazon has it for about $13 less than the cover price of $30. Plus, there's a great chocolate-chip cookie recipe in there, heh.

https://www.amazon.com/Vegan-Everybody-Foolproof-Plant-Based-Between/dp/194035286X

You can also Google the name of whatever dishes you like to eat plus "vegetarian" or "vegan" and the search will turn up a lot of hits.

Oswego Deleted user ⋅ December 24, 2022

I will certainly try to put that book in my Amazon cart for later study. Merci boucoup for your sensible and well-meaning advice, but alas, I am so totally not a foodie that I will experiment with almost every kind of frozen item or entre/ microwaveable dinner. Not frozen food per se, which you have to sort of cook, but entire dinners, which as I get older and lose more of my appetite, can actually make two meals out of.

Some of the all veggie/vegan frozen dinners are more than tolerable and come with a tiny certificate of achievement for being so health conscious. The manufacturers also hope to build customer loyalty this way. Lol!

ConnieK December 22, 2022

The hardest part of the colonoscopy is the clean out. Once I'm at the office, I tell them I've done my part of the job, now they can put me to sleep! I fill my plate with 1/2 veggies, a fruit serving, a small meat serving, and a starch. We don't have dessert every night but there's always a bowl of m&ms if the sweet tooth emerges (the trick is to just eat one or two at a time rather than grabbing a handful).

Oswego ConnieK ⋅ December 24, 2022

It’s amazing, but that’s exactly what comes with each Lean Cuisine frozen dinner, and I simply add another veggie, maybe beans instead, perhaps a mixed fruit cup, and some cookies, cake and or muffin top for dessert!😳🫣… VOILA! There it is! Easy as pie, which is also delicious out of the frozen food case at the grocery store.

Yes, the colonoscopy prep is awful, especially when you get to a certain age and…. What upsets me though is that I had to have TWO within two months. Doesn’t that seem like payback for putting off the first one two years from the time I was supposed to have it? Lol… you gotta try to see the humor in these unmentionable procedures. Yet another reason “youth is wasted on the young!” They are clueless about what awaits them in their dotage’s and even before.

ConnieK Oswego ⋅ December 25, 2022

When my husband works out of town, I buy those dinners but after a while, they begin to lose appeal. I can do a week, but after that, even if it's just an egg sandwich, I gotta have something cooked, not nuked. My favs: Chicken & Pineapple, Beef in Whiskey Sauce, and the turkey.

Two colonoscopies is challenging, but family history and your current issues probably justified it. They make me do a 2 day clean-out. :(

Oswego ConnieK ⋅ December 25, 2022

The one I had last night was another big disappointment, but I keep trying. You should see how often I open the freezer cases at the grocery store! Lol

ConnieK Oswego ⋅ December 25, 2022

Some are great, some not so much. It's a lot of processed food, though.

Oswego ConnieK ⋅ December 25, 2022

Yes, some really are excellent, but unfortunately I have a hard time remembering which ones! Lol

ConnieK Oswego ⋅ December 25, 2022

Me, too! LOL! I know the sweet & sour chicken to be reliable and while the beef in whiskey sauce is good, other beef entrees taste like cardboard.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.