Reality check. The trying to break the December slump edition in Hot town, summery in the city - 2017

  • Dec. 13, 2022, 6:29 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Yes, there is always a post NoJoMo slump. Meh, it’s what it is!

WHERE:

Currently sitting in the camhs waiting room while T has OCD therapy. The seat are very not comfortable: perfect 90 degree angles with soggy, faux leather covered foam cushions and no where to lean to be really comfortable.

WEARING:

You will be very disappointed to discover I’m not naked (as I usually am during a reality check because I’m usually in the bath!) The temps are hovering at a below-zero celcius at the mo so I have jeans, trainers with slipper socks, a long sleeved top, a short sleeved top and a very, very warm hoodie. I also have a face mask on because it’s a health provider and they’re still requested.

FITNESS UPDATE:

My fitness is currently fucked. I’m constantly too tired to run, walking seems hard and curling up to sleep is the only thing that keeps me going some days. Depressing? Maybe. Long covid? Most probably. Low vitamin B12? Very likely. I have a few friends who self inject and I’m becoming tempted.

THE NEWS:

The news. The neeeews. Do you really trust the news? Is it all spin? I think there’s a certain amount of that in every news outlet. I miss the days of the BBC being left wing but, hey ho. Everyone is on strike because income is so shit when put into the context of the ‘rising costs of living’ (Also known as: the fat cats wanting to be able to buy their kids a second Ferrari). Covid is on the rise but no one is bothered any more. Infrastructure is collapsing and the only thing we can do is post on social media in a ranty way, accompanied by many memes.

READING:

I started reading a Lawrence Durrell book but I feel that it’s more appropriate for relaxed Sunday afternoons rather than 10 minutes crammed before sleep. I have a pile by the bed to move on to though, and put Lawrence on the bottom.

ACTIVITIES TODAY:

Wait for T
Email something to T’s therapist that I should have brought in today.
go back to work later
try to rest after a mad but brilliant weekend in London with T
try to figure out what to do with L who won’t go to school but won’t let me deregister her
phone stepmum and invite ourselves for Christmas

THINKING ABOUT:

My brain is a large cloud of ‘stuff’ and sometimes something pops to the fore and I think about it. Then I like to put it back and hide from it.

PLANNING:

Running away to a deserted island which, obviously has running water plumbed toilets and a supply of chocolate. Anyone coming with me? Bring your own choice of luxuries!


thesunnyabyss December 13, 2022

I like your version of a deserted island, I'm so in.

ermentrude thesunnyabyss ⋅ December 13, 2022

Great stuff, there’s going to be a few of us now 😊 x

thesunnyabyss ermentrude ⋅ December 13, 2022

I'd like a chef's kitchen included and stocked, we are gonna need to eat.

ermentrude thesunnyabyss ⋅ December 13, 2022

And with you there we will eat well!! But if you’re not stressed will you do your stress baking..?

thesunnyabyss ermentrude ⋅ December 13, 2022

Then I will do joyful baking, I'm hoping since it's a deserted island you all enjoy fresh seafood.

ermentrude thesunnyabyss ⋅ December 13, 2022

Ooh perfect!!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.