Wednesday - 25.06.14 in Your Face

  • June 25, 2014, 4:01 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Another day in paradise. My brother is a dickhead and any sympathy I had for him due to his recent surgery has evaporated. If he is able to drive (with one arm in a sling) to go and pick up drugs, then he can't be that bad, can he?

Today I did very little. I went to ALDI in the morning, and got my tyre replaced. Put the spare back where it belongs.

I made lasagne and chopped some potatoes into chips for dinner. My mother came home early, so I rushed to get it finished. It's not as good as I had hoped. The thing is, though, that dinner will be cooking, I will say it's ready in ten minutes, and still she will launch head first into the fridge and stuff her face. I don't know what she eats at work, but she never takes her lunch. I would put money on her trotting down to the cafeteria and putting on her "I don't eat much" show, just having an apple or something, and that's why she comes home ravenous and out of control. It's ridiculous. She's sixty fuckin' years old, she needs to get her shit sorted out.

I also helped my neighbour fill out some paperwork for his mother's upcoming surgery. He has arthritis in his hands, and I have nice, neat writing, so it worked out. I am always happy when I can do something for him, considering how nice he is to us. He's the one that cooks us bread, lets us wash or repair our cars in his driveway and often has us over for dinner. I am worried about what will happen to him when his mother dies (she is 94) and he has to move out of the housing commission house.

My back is sore from hunching over my laptop day after day. I might have to dust off my card table and set it up so I can at least sit at that. It just takes up so much space in this tiny room.

Nothing much else to report. I am feeling rebellious and am going to pop down to the supermarket shortly for a supply of chips and sweets. I want to stay up late playing Age of Empires II and stuffing my face.


Who's Laughing Now? June 25, 2014

Oh my God, I fucking love that game. I forgot it exists. Might have to hunt down the discs, I'm sure it's lying around the flat somewhere.

Dictynna June 25, 2014

chips and sweets ... yum!!!

your brother sounds like a dick. sorry you have to have that in your life. :(

AlexYourAlterEgo Dictynna ⋅ June 25, 2014

He really is a dick. A total waste of space who will never change. I am just trying to ignore it, and focus on being a better person for myself.

Miso Honey June 30, 2014

Sorry to say this, but it sounds like you gave your brother more kindness than he deserved...at least until he grows up.

Did you end up putting some hours into AoE 2?

AlexYourAlterEgo Miso Honey ⋅ June 30, 2014

Of course I did, and I always will because I am a sucker. As for growing up, he's 36 right now and showing no signs of growing up - and why would he, with his mother (and myself to a degree) babying him?

I continue to put my hours into AOE 2. It's the one constant in my life right now, and I just play game, after game, after game. I pause it, of course, when I am doing something else, but drop back in and resume play 5 or 6 times a day.

Miso Honey AlexYourAlterEgo ⋅ June 30, 2014

Hopefully one day, he will surprise you. Probably not, but still...

Nice. I love how games can really take the edge off of things. I don't understand people who don't play games, at least from time to time. I admire your dedication to an older game that many have moved on from. As a player of old video games, I think it is awesome.

AlexYourAlterEgo Miso Honey ⋅ June 30, 2014

Yes, I am 29 and this game came out when I was in the 9th or 10th grade. I tend to stick to the older games, in my limited experience I have found that newer games are too layered, too fast paced and most of all, too expensive! I will stick with my old games as long as I possibly can.

Miso Honey AlexYourAlterEgo ⋅ June 30, 2014

Are you on Steam? It is a game store/management thing. They have tons of old games for under $5 and even some newer ones for super cheap. They have some pretty great sales.

However, my favourite part is that they sell and promote indy games. They tend to be inexpensive, but really thoughtful and cool. I just got one where you get to be a prison architect! A lot of the indy games are throwbacks to older styles of games that the big game companies don't make any more. Games like "FTL: Faster Than Light" are good examples. FTL might be the best $4 I have ever spent.

AlexYourAlterEgo Miso Honey ⋅ June 26, 2020

So, I am randomly reading my old entry and here is where you introduce me to Steam! Still use it to this day, and I thank you, ma'am tips hat

Miso Honey AlexYourAlterEgo ⋅ November 08, 2020

Yay, glad to help! Are you playing any good games, right now?

AlexYourAlterEgo Miso Honey ⋅ November 08, 2020

Oldies - Dr Brain 3 (the Lost Mind of Dr Brain) on DosBox. Trying to figure out how to get an old rip of Pandora's Box to run (puzzle game).

Am heavily into Sims 4 at present, and LOVING it. I'm a sim fanatic.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.