Early Christmas in Life in General

  • Nov. 29, 2022, 8:42 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

So I bought my dad an early Christmas gift. I missed buying him a gift for father’s day and his birthday (which in my defense are back to back and it was during a really crazy summer) so it was time to make up for it. And holy cow did I.

So my dad really loves watching TV. Like… probably way too much haha. One of his most recent obsessions is YouTube. He can sit and just watch random videos for hours. So a while back I upgraded my YouTube premium to the family plan and added him so he wouldn’t get any ads and WOW did he love that.

Side note… if you use a service A LOT and there is an option to ditch the ads.... what are you waiting for? Is 10-20 dollars a month worth the hours you’re spending waiting for ads to finish? Think of it as buying your life back. You have limited free time stop wasting it on ads.

Anyway, so my dad has this 65 inch TV he leased from a furniture store a long time ago. He WAY overpaid for it (probably paid twice what it was worth) and he swears it’s amazing. But here’s the fact… that TV sucks balls. Every time I would visit I would cringe at the horrible picture quality. I tried tweaking the settings but it was unsalvageable.

Now I understand why he didn’t notice how bad it was, because he’s never seen anything better. I have had an OLED TV since 2017. And I won’t go into why, but OLED is basically the best class of TV you can buy currently (there are many different kinds of OLED though, but again… I won’t go into this now because this will turn into a novel lol) Now my parents aren’t the kind of people who like to travel, and for this reason, they’ve never really been to any house or apartment I’ve ever owned. I always had this fantasy of showing my dad my OLED and being like “SEE THIS? YEAH THIS IS BETTER U SHOULD BUY ONE”.

So… I bought my dad a 77inch OLED. It was quite a bit of money but I got one of the best TVs money can buy. And it was bigger than his old one (he’s always expressed how he wished he had a bigger TV which is ridiculous to me because 65 inches is already kind of massive haha).

Anyway, I ordered it and had it sent directly to a local Best Buy. The day I drove to my parents house, my brother met me at the store and we loaded it up. I can’t tell you how excited I was for all this. I didn’t even plan a big reveal or anything. I just told my dad to go outside when I saw my dad pulling in. He was extremely surprised!

It honestly is WAY too big haha. I would never want a 77 inch TV unless I had a massive room to put it in. But he was super pleased with it so it worked out!

I will say that I’ve been using the brownie points to convince him to stop smoking. I haven’t really talked about it much but my dad is a heavy chain smoker. Sometimes 2 1/2 packs per day. He always gets angry and defensive when I bring it up but occasionally I have gotten him to try and quit but he always goes back. Well I think this TV thing got through to him a bit because he is currently trying again. We’ll see!

I did encounter a small victory there though. I’ve spoken to my dad about Chantix before and he has told me “no no no I don’t like that I’ve tried it and it made me irritable” but I’m so lucky to have a pharmacist for a wife because she immediately interjected and was like “You sure that wasn’t Wellbutrin?” and he was like “wait omg you’re right it was that one” and she said “yeah chantix is way better I’m surprised they had you try that over chantix first”

I was about to cry because it means my dad could have a real shot at quitting smoking again. He already made the call to his doctor about the chantix and now they’re just trying to figure out a way to pay for it. I told them I’d pay for it out of pocket if insurance won’t cover it. Overpaying for a medication is well worth a few more years with my dad.

Anyway there is more to talk about but I’m sick of typing (I got sick over the holidays go figure haha) so I’ll end it now. BYE


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.