blah blah in Another Open Diary refugee

  • June 24, 2014, 5:29 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

John worked from home today... well, technically he always works from home because he doesn't have an office, but today he didn't go out on any calls - he sat on the phone and his work laptop for seven hours straight trying to sort out a client who spilled coffee on his laptop and fried it. I really wasn't feeling well today... nothing specific, just tired and limpy and breathless so I really didn't get much done. I used the nebuliser this morning (lately I seem to be using it about once a week) and rested most of the day. We had canned soup for lunch and I made some quick fried rice for dinner using leftover roast pork. We're probably going to end up having roast pork again tomorrow - I bought half a pork loin on Monday and it hasn't made it into the freezer yet. After I froze the 10 pounds of chicken breast and three pounds of ground turkey there wasn't anywhere to put the pork, and it was cryo-packed so it could wait for a few days. Not to mention that our meat keeper is icy cold because the fridge has a special setting for the bottom compartments and it's permanently stuck on 'arctic'. Guess that's better than they're being permanently stuck on 'warm', even if they DO freeze our fruit and vegetables solid overnight! I think I have to start prepping the veggies as soon as I bring them home and then sticking them in the fridge in ziplocks so I don't have to wrestle with frozen vegetables at dinner time... have to say it's discouraged me from using much fresh stuff because of the hassle (when I buy lettuce I stick it higher in the fridge so it won't freeze - frozen lettuce would be ruined!)

The new shower rod and safety rails arrived on Saturday but John's been too busy working to install them... hopefully he'll get to them before the end of the week. It would be nice to have my hand rails when I'm not feeling super well...

I booked the July 4th dinner cruise for us a few weeks ago so we're definitely going... they just updated the website that it's a 'bbq style dinner'. Hope we're both feeling better that day than we are right now so we can enjoy ourselves... Oh, and I seem to be a total failure at keeping plants alive! My herb pots are wilting and going black even though I've watered them every day and soaked them in the sink every second day. I think it's just way too hot on the porch for them. :( I think all my plants from now on are going to be silk!


Silent Echo/Quiet Storm June 25, 2014

i'm sorry you two don't feel so good. hope you both feel good for the 4th of july. i spilled a cup of coffee on my laptop and the laptop was considered dead. i guess it's a good thing that your meat keeper is too cold rather than too warm. that's a good idea.... to cut up the veggies when you get home before you put them in the fridge. you must have a pretty small freezer. take care,

Everything Good Rebecca June 28, 2014

I'm glad you're definitely going on that July 4th dinner cruise! That sounds like something to look forward to, something you two can really enjoy and savor!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.