Heart aches/attacks and summer planting. in Tea at the Cabin in the Woods

  • June 24, 2014, 6:47 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I was working in the garden that I share with my neighbor when she came out to talk. Her husband was in the hospital waiting for tests... He had gone to the Dr. for a check up and never got to come home. This was nearly 2 weeks ago. Yesterday they finally got part of the stints done and tomorrow they will complete the others. All together he will have 8 stints and should be home again by Friday or Saturday. They have been married 45 years and she has been frazzled.

The garden is growing, slowly. I have added Miracle Grow to the watering but you can only do that every 10 days or so. The temps drop into the 50's and sometimes the 40's at night, so the ground doesn't get as warm as we'd like. I have put straw around the plants hoping it will help. We shall see.

This morning I woke up at 3:35AM and laid in bed trying to get back to sleep - Finally around 5:15 i gave up and just got up and started reviewing a text book for a course that I am developing. At 7 am my sister called. It is never a good thing when a family member calls you at 7 am. Mom had another heart attack yesterday. She had a heart cath done today, but when they started to insert the lines into her groin, the fit a blockage and tore a vain... they began on the other leg and found 95% blockages in 3 arteries. She was hemorrhaging from the tear and they had to stop and repair the damage. Tomorrow, they will try again to clear the arteries and place 3 stints (2 are replacement stints from a past problem). My sister found her on the floor after she didn't answer the phone. Thank GOD she was close enough to get to her.

Daughter has found a very nice young man whom we have met on three occasions now. They seem very taken with each other and comfortable together. I don't want to jinx things since her track record is not so good. But we have our fingers crossed they will make each other happy. I don't know if she can take another heart break. It's so hard to see her hurting. So , fingers crossed!

Well, I have to pack for a trip to FLA. It is just a one night over and back so there is no time to see anyone - DARN. I have to video tape lectures for an on-line course. Yippee! (cough) Anyway, I need to get things together. I hope you are all well. Until later.


raeven June 24, 2014

HUGS... I'm sorry about your mom... it has to be hard not to be close when that is happening.

Our garden is growing sooo slowly too.. and it's much warmer here. I'm so happy for E. She has sure been through a lot of hearbreak.

ermentrude June 29, 2014

I hope your mom is okay hugs x

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.