Dear Linda in The Long and Winding Road

  • Nov. 22, 2022, 5:04 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Anyone who knows me at all, knows how much Linda Ronstadt has always meant to me. I have loved her music from the beginning. I saw her in concert every chance I got. I guess I identify with her as part of my youth. I can’t even really express it. And I don’t expect anyone else to understand it. I didn’t see her feature on the CBS Sunday Morning show – one of my favorite shows – but I stumbled upon it a few days ago. I watched it, and then I sobbed. I sobbed for the loss of such a beautiful voice. I sobbed for my own lost youth. I sobbed as I accepted that we all move on. We all die. The performers who meant so much to us, die. Their memory dies. Man, this is so morbid. But at my age we have lost, or will soon lose, so many people who have meant so much to us throughout our lives. What will I do when Paul McCartney dies? Or Eric Clapton? Or so many others? It’s hard to get old. It’s really hard to let go, to accept that nobody under the age of.... whatever.... cares about whatever we cared about… and that a new generation has moved into their youth, their dominance in American culture. But some day they will be the older ones. They will be the ones saying goodbye. Those of us who are lucky enough to live long lives, cannot escape that.

Linda


GypsyWynd November 22, 2022

nodding in understanding
I remember how devastated I felt when Dan Fogelberg died.
At Thanksgiving, I always miss Rick.

Beret November 22, 2022

I still like her music very much. Especially the "albums" of standards she produced. I think there may have been three of them.

Zipster November 22, 2022

Saw her a couple of times, including in LA doing Canciones de mi Padre. She got me through good times and heartaches.

plushcreep November 24, 2022

I think of that same impending sense of loss when it comes to my faves, like Bruce Springsteen and Bob Seger. I feel fortunate to have seen both in concert twice. And luckily, we got to see Tom Petty, too.

Hope you have a happy Thanksgiving, Nancy.

Justlovely November 29, 2022

Yep. I hear ya, and I am younger than you. I saw the story about LR when it originally aired. I also love her music. We want to "age gracefully" and accept how we change and how life changes around us as we age, but nobody tells you you're going to feel like this when people around you start dying. US society discards us as soon as we stop being super models, so we don't have the same role as younger people get in life. It's, for me, a process of adjusting all the time to who I am, and what life is like as you're getting older. Hugs.

Deleted user August 09, 2023

I was at Marc Savoy's shop and he got me to buy a CD that his wife Ann made with Linda Ronstadt. Adieu False Heart. Some great songs on it.

Newzlady November 04, 2023

Thanks for the link. Gonna check it out.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.