Spending money, again. in A small but passable life.

  • Nov. 12, 2022, 11:48 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I had nothing to read yesterday so I made the mistake, the mistake I usually make when I’m bored, of perusing Thriftbooks and Amazon. I ordered four paperbacks from Thriftbooks and a photo album and fountain pen from Amazon. The photo album is leather bound and holds 300 4X6 photos and was $20. I had to order at least $25 for free shipping so I bought an Amazon house brand fountain pen. Walgreens wants 38 cents per print for a 4X6 so 300 X .38=$114 to fill the thing up. Of the four books I ordered three of them will be “re-reads”. I’ve pretty much decided that rereading old favorites from forty or fifty years ago is more enjoyable sometimes than trying to find something new to read. There is definitely nothing wrong with having a bookshelf (or a pile next to my reading chair?) of well worn classics in paperback.

Legal pads. When did they become so expensive? Or were they always expensive? I have empty spiral bound notebooks, empty composition books, empty journals, and empty notebooks of various sizes and brands, but I’m down to the last few pages of my last few legal pads. I mostly keep my notes on a legal pad on a clipboard. I prefer shuffling single pages around rather than having everything tied in place.

I also looked at new Kindles. The new basic is $99, $119 without an ad on the home screen. I don’t need a new Kindle, the old original keyboard model still works fine, but the new ones sure are nice. Amazon says they’ll give me a $5 gift card for the old one that I paid, I think, $140 for. I’ll just have two Kindles. I like the new denim color.

I also looked at tablets. The cheapest Samsung is $99. It has Bluetooth and 32G storage (expandable to 1T with micro SD). The one I have now (Google Next) cost $99 and only has 8G storage (full up now) and no Bluetooth.

Agonizing over upgrading electronic devices. A First World problem?

Yeah, my new $50 Celero5G smartphone can outperform both the Kindle and the tablet, so why bother?

Like I said, nonsensical.

Anyway, I’m thinking it may be warm enough to spend the afternoon at the pool today.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.