Sure signs of an uncivilized age in Daydreaming on the Porch

  • Nov. 7, 2022, 8:29 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

One of the surest signs of the debasement and rejection of civility today is the ceaseless, deliberate proliferation of noise in our society. We are bombarded by it constantly: Loud TVs; trucks; military jets and commercial aircraft; and booming, terrifying Harleys, and speed-freak, revved-up smaller motorcycles, racing up and down city streets with impunity, endangering lives and emitting the most obscenely high-decibel noise conceivable to the unprotected ear.

I am sensitive to noise and suffered hearing damage years ago. I often have to cover my ears when I am exposed to this. But more than anything it makes me sad and angry that we have come to a point where this is even tolerated, instead of being banned.

Miserably selfish little nobodies create this motorcycle noise on our streets. One would have to have a quite minuscule IQ and sense of self-worth to think this barbaric noise-generating activity is in any way cool, macho, daring or rebellious. It’s the very opposite of these things.

And then there’s the jacked up 5-ton pickup trucks and vehicles devoid of mufflers with their earth-rattling car stereos with bass so loud the ground vibrates underneath, and whose occupants inhabit a lost hearing twilight world they will soon enough pay dearly for, so thoughtless of themselves and others.

We live with noise, and I mean the grossest, most offensive kind. Every day where I live huge transport jets fly low overhead on their way to the Air Force base, obliterating for long moments any sense of tranquility of thought or purpose. Loud delivery, and all manner of other trucks, rattle the nerves and ears. A pile-driver destroyed any peace and quiet from where I sat this afternoon writing this, creating a loud and steady, pounding noise.

Just look at what we’ve come to. Huge, powerful, noisy and polluting engines pulling trucks that are hauling thousand of pounds of beer to slake the thirst and numb the brains of college students. Buses that need silencing mufflers. Car with no mufflers.

As I sat in the relative quiet of the garden in back of the student center at the college downtown, I only occasionally noticed the traffic on the street a hundred feet or so away. Instead, I enjoyed the sound of a solitary cricket in an azalea bush. He is one of the last to sing his song before the frosts of winter arrive. The cricket and the mockingbird, which was singing at that time also.

One wonders if the brain-dead and soon-to-be-deaf operators of those soul-deadening machines know anything of the virtues of true quiet. Their dying ears can’t hear and their hearts have become hardened to the possibility that a more peaceful world that would exist if their noise and chaos did not exist.

The noisemakers will never comprehend what a terrible price some of us must pay for their dancing around the vortex of the massive urban chaos they produce and revel in, day in and day out. Ad infinitum. Pathetic!


Jinn November 07, 2022

I am fortunate to live in a quiet place. Once in awhile I hear a loud car or plane but it’s not often.

WhatDreamsMayCome November 07, 2022

I'm a bit hypersensitive to loud noises too. (I think it was that Ted Nugent concert from45 years ago.)

Oswego WhatDreamsMayCome ⋅ November 08, 2022

That would not surprise me. You are not alone!

Deleted user November 07, 2022

You KNOW I understand this entry!

P.S. Don't ever get a parrot.

Oswego Deleted user ⋅ November 08, 2022

Oh yes!!! I know you do!! 😳

ConnieK November 08, 2022

Our business uses generators and power tools. Some noise is inevitable, but remember, too, that you live in a densely populated city. Then again, if you go out to the country, all you hear are dogs barking in the distance (or wolves) and roosters crowing. My neighborhood is completely quiet in the early afternoon. It only lasts a few hours, but I love the silence.

Oswego ConnieK ⋅ November 08, 2022

You are so fortunate. My new place is set well off the highway and is very pastoral and quiet. The noise problems begin as soon as I leave these secluded acres. I am blocks away from what has to be one of top five busiest roads/highways in the entire metro area! You would not believe the massive number of 5-ton trucks in this city, and it seems to be a magnet for those horrendous, deafening motorcycles whose operators will be deaf before they know it. Either they’re oblivious, or it’s a trade-off for them. Live it up now and everyone else be damned, and pay for it big time later, for they surely will!😳

mcbee November 08, 2022

I totally agree with you.

Kristi1971 November 11, 2022

It's pretty quiet where I live, but it's in the country. But - I love the quiet when I'm hiking. It's peaceful and calming to my soul.

Oswego Kristi1971 ⋅ November 12, 2022

You are very fortunate! ☺️

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.