Swampfox 623, Delta High. in General

  • Nov. 6, 2022, 9:42 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I occasionally throw out obscure references.

Swampfox was the tactical call sign for the World Famous VAQ-132 Scorpions.

623 was my jet. I was always assigned to 623, and 623 wasn’t always the same aircraft.

The three digit side numbers are referred to as “Modex.” The IFF Mode 2 is set on to the transponder and you don’t have any control over it from the cockpit. The modex is set in mode 2 so the air traffic controllers on the boat can differentiate between aircraft in the case 3 stack.

“Delta” is holding. As soon as you hear “delta” you look at the gas gauge.

For prowlers, low holding was 4 thousand feet. High holding was 19 thousand feet.

In civilian aviation everything up to 18K is just thousands, then becomes flight levels.

In Naval Aviation, all altitudes above 1000’ are “Angels.” So, if you are going around in circles at 4000’ you are at angels 4. Below 1000’ you at cherubs. Helo guys work down there.

Break break.

I found the VP of engineering planning’s email. Spend a weekend online and you can eventually derive anything.

My multiaxis attack now has five axes.

Break break

We did that stupid thing we do every fall and set the clocks back. I didn’t help it was a dreary day to begin with, but I’ll be damned it seemed to start getting dark at 3pm, or 1500 if you are so inclined.

Break break.

The real estate market is crashing, and interest rates are screaming up. Story of my life. Buy a house and the interest rates are up. Try to sell a house and the market is in the tank.

No one won the Powerball last night. I had a feeling. I also have a feeling no one wins tonight.

Depending on my spidey sense I might go plop down a hundred bucks in the offhand chance.

But no one in Maine ever wins the big lottery.


Jinn November 06, 2022

I have been playing. Will try again tomorrow :-) Hope springs eternal!

gattaca November 07, 2022

The one thing AZ does right is ignore Daylight Savings.
The rest of AZ is doomed however.

Sassy January 22, 2023

Long time no post. Hope you are ok.

Duke Sassy ⋅ February 01, 2023

Just been in suspended animation since Halloween. Uninspired to write.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.