Pushed myself this weekend in Another Open Diary refugee

  • June 22, 2014, 7:47 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I pushed myself WAY too hard this weekend... what did I do that was so demanding??? Yesterday morning the church was having a super sale of their thrift store stuff and I wanted to be over there bright and early, but of course John wasn't up yet so I was out the door at 8am to walk over to the church. Turns out I was half an hour early - they wanted the volunteers at 8.30 but the sale didn't actually start till 9 so I needn't have rushed quite so much! Oh well... it was already blazing hot at eight in the morning, so it's good that I was as early as possible. I sat and rested for a few minutes then I did my thing, and I was ready to go home about 9.15, with a set of chair cushions for the kitchen chairs (hooray, it's a couple of YEARS since I had to get rid of the others and I never saw a full set in a thrift store till now...) And I got four almost matching picture frames for a project I want to do. I think I need 3 more... anyway, since I had a BIG bag to carry all that stuff and I'd mentioned I didn't have a car, one of the gentlemen volunteers ran me and my goodies home and I didn't have to get John out of bed to fetch me.

Later in the day we went to the Animal Aid thrift store (no bargains there alas) and I wanted him to take me to the other thrift stores since I hadn't found any of the things I was looking for. We desperately need curtains in the bedroom to help block out some of the heat and he says he doesn't want to have to keep taking me back and forth on unsuccessful hunts. (sigh)... So to Big Lots we went, and I found curtain rods, pretty voiles, another shower curtain that matches the one I bought there three months ago (yay it's really cute!), and two sets of matching curtains, one for the the sliding door and a shorter one for the window above the bed. I was really pleased with myself, if exhausted... but then I looked at the package and discovered I'd misread the label - the full-length curtains said 60x84 but that was both panels combined, not EACH... the sliding doors are 74 inches wide, and the windows are 54 so it was never going to fit. :( So we were going to have to take the damned curtains back and try again... After all that I was so exhausted I was laying on the bed pretending I was dead for a few hours, and John ordered dinner when he got hungry, at about 8.30. We were trying to watch some tv, but I was falling asleep so he sent me to bed before ten, and I actually slept the whole night through...

This morning I thought I was okay until I started trying to do stuff, when I realised I was STILL very tired and washed out. John didn't want to go to church and I was way too tired to walk, so that was off the agenda. We went back to Big Lots after lunch and returned the curtains (I kept the voiles and the double curtain rod - they're wide enough to use) but of course they didn't have any curtains in pairs that would fit the window so we'll have to just put up the voile and keep looking for blackout curtains to fit an 80 inch door frame. At least we'll have a bit more privacy in the bedroom... I wanted to go to Ross but John refused to take me today so I just went to Winn Dixie for meat on sale. Actually we went to two - there's one by the Big Lots but it was ICKY and they didn't have ANY of the meat that was supposedly on sale, so I walked out without buying anything and we went back to the closer store, where they had tons of chicken breasts waiting for me... bought the groceries, came home and put them away and made some dinner... and then I fell down in a heap again. Rested for a couple of hours and took some meds, then I was able to tackle the litterbox and the trash.

I hope I'm less stiff and sore tomorrow because there's a mountain of laundry waiting for me now... I have to get up early anyway - the a/c is struggling to try to cool the place and the landlord's supposed to send somebody over at 8.30 in the morning to look at it. He peered at it himself this afternoon and says he thinks it's okay, just rattling, so I hope a professional IS coming - the a/c cannot lower the temperature during the day, and this afternoon after I made our dinner it had gone up to 86 even though we had all the ceiling fans running full blast. I hate to think what our electricity bill's going to be like this month, and it's only the end of June - the hottest part of the year isn't even here yet! We turn it down to 79 overnight and up to 82 during the day... I'd put it higher when it was just me and then turn it down when John got home, but there's no way to get the temp down again until the sun goes down so it would be too hot for John. This afternoon it was too hot for BOTH of us, which was why John called the landlord.


elaine2 June 22, 2014

The best curtains I have found for large bedroom windows: Bedsheets. They are so easy to turn into any sort of curtains. I actually bought a long string of tiny seashells to make cute tiebacks.

Everything Good Rebecca June 28, 2014

I love when thrift store bargains are there and fit perfectly, but I've often found the brand new items are a disappointment after all. The curtains would make a difference for you two, but the right ones are still waiting for you somewhere. And as for the meat sale, I really dislike going to a store for items advertised and finding they don't and never did have any of the items advertised. I really really hate this!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.