Darcy0207 from OD June 22, 2014

Beautiful day! I still have trouble with June 21 being "midsummer". It's the first day, how is it "mid"? I never could figure that out.

ermentrude Darcy0207 from OD ⋅ June 22, 2014

Because it's based on the pagan calendar rather than the Christian calendar :-) x

Darcy0207 from OD ermentrude ⋅ June 22, 2014

It's still not the middle of the summer, but when the day is the longest... Scratch most of the Christian calendar, and you'll get a pagan holiday. And the solstice is not a Christian holiday at all, come to think of it.

ermentrude Darcy0207 from OD ⋅ June 23, 2014

Yes, the solstice is definitely pagan. Rich and I always celebrate it somewhere, we've spent the night on Glastonbury Tor a couple of times. Although June is considered the beginning of summer on the Christian calendar, in England (where a lot of this occurred) June is usually our warmest month. So I guess it really is midsummer in the farming season. Planting occurs in February/March/April and harvest is the end of August and September. X

Deleted user June 22, 2014

Oh my God, look at that sky! So, so jealous!

Sounds like a lovely weekend, may the others be as good or even better! :-)

Life Is For Living June 22, 2014

I absolutely love music festivals -- camping music festivals are such an experience. Looks like you all had a great time & gorgeous weather!

thesunnyabyss June 22, 2014

sigh, that looks perfect, I'm so glad you had this weekend!

hugs!

Deleted user June 22, 2014

That is amazing! I want a nutella pancake right now. On that hill! I don't think we have camping music festivals like that here... or maybe I'm just in the wrong circles. :) Your girls must LOVE those weekends!

~Twinkle~ June 23, 2014

Amazing! I want a pancake now xx

edna million June 23, 2014

What gorgeous views! That looks like so much fun. And nutella pancakes... yum!

Deleted user June 24, 2014

Maybe the kites wanted a nutella sandwich? ;-)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.