A New York City experience in keeping it postive

  • June 22, 2014, 8:08 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Usually I try to go to a Saturday matinee on Broadway (at least when I've been working as the 1/2 price ticket booth is across the street from my job - AND ... I have the extra money), but I read that there would be a musical extravaganza in various venues in Manhattan and Brooklyn for Saturday.

I wanted to go to a few of them, but (1) they were scattered - and not REALLY in walking distance and (2) there were many at the same time - there are just so many hours in a day. I got to the first one - gongs - and it was supposed to be participatory. I just wanted to watch and listen. I expected a certain amount of polyphony (many sounds), but what I got was cacophony (sounds more like noise). I left and walked uptown.

I found some food vendors and bought something that was Turkish - supposedly had cheese and spinach inside... all I could taste was the dough. Now I like dough, but for $8, I wanted something more. Next there was a street fair. I used to buy a lot there, but this time I just browsed. I don't need anything that they were selling.

I got to the next venue early - no one had even set up yet. It was harp music. I was able to sit at a table and read for a bit. A man sat with me and we talked for a while. He was interesting, energetic, and VERY needy. He liked reading, women's issues, classical music, computer... but was underemployed - working as a custodian even though he was college educated in Colombia (his country of origin); he was "looking" for companionship, but was just "not right" for me. I should've been interested, but wasn't.

The harp music was lovely. The next stop was French horns (close enough to home I could walk there when the concert was over). I got on a bus I'd have to transfer from... then the dilemma - go to Trader Joe's and call it a day? or go to the next concert, then shop at a more expensive... but just as extensive... supermarket. Hmmm. I opted for TJ's and then came home. It was a long, interesting day. And in chatting with the bus driver, he nailed it: I got out of the house and did SOMETHING on this beautiful NYC day.


woman in the moon June 22, 2014

This is a beautiful New York story. I love it. Yes, you did something. And you told us about it.

I wonder what they expected random gongs to sound like. I went to the web site you posted on your last entry. Very interesting. There was going to be a huge wind band playing complex stuff with many bands and also just whoever showed up. Wonder how that turned out.

Darcy0207 from OD woman in the moon ⋅ June 22, 2014

the gongs were "anyone could play", many of the sites were for whoever showed up to play, but I couldn't be everywhere at once. I wonder how the French horns sounded. I'll see if they do this again next year. Maybe it was for the summer solstice, maybe not.

vivement June 22, 2014

Lovely! Yes, I'm not a big percussion fan in it's own right- as part of an ensemble, yes, but just gongs? Nothing relaxing about that to me. Harps are a different story. Beautiful.

Darcy0207 from OD vivement ⋅ June 22, 2014

I agree... somehow I thought they would be smaller gongs - but there was only a short while of an actual BEAT, then just let's see how MUCH noise we can make. Gotta move on for sure.

ermentrude June 22, 2014

It sounds like fun!! One of my (many) Spanish teachers is from Colombia, she's such a lovely, optimistic lady with deep knowledge of the world and it's machinations.

And an amazingly contagious giggle :-)

X

Spinster June 22, 2014

I think I would have went with the Broadway option.

Darcy0207 from OD Spinster ⋅ June 23, 2014

I'll probably go to a show this coming weekend. I consider it a bonus for working.

Ragdolls June 22, 2014

Deleted user June 25, 2014

At least you had a story to tell. =)

Darcy0207 from OD Deleted user ⋅ June 25, 2014

I ALWAYS have a story to tell.... LOL

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.