Sunday - 22.06.14 in Your Face

  • June 22, 2014, 1:19 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Yesterday, my siblings and I had to go for a shitty photo shoot. It was the worst thing, because my mother has to force this shit on us, guilt and manipulate us until we give in, the whole thing was a horrible, awkward experience that left us all feeling angry, all so that she can take the stupid photos in to work and show them off to her friends there. They have some sort of happy families competition going on there, where they all try to one-up each other over who has the happiest, most loving family. Fact is, none of them have a happy family, but they like to pretend they do.

Anyway, there's so much more behind our complaints, although I'm sure it just sounds like we're horrible children. I should also mention that she kept hassling us for a group photo, so about 2 years ago for her birthday we trotted off to the photo parlour and had a bunch of lame, smiley photos taken. All chipped in to pay for them (as well as selling our souls be agreeing to do it) and gave her the gift. She threw it straight into the garden shed, and earlier this week admitted to me that she didn't like the photos at all. She's just so sweet and nice, isn't she? This is the same person who told me that when she found out she was pregnant with me, she wanted an abortion and it was my father that talked her into following through with the pregnancy. More recently, she told me I have a nose like John Lennon, but that's okay because she likes John Lennon. Shall I go on? No? Well, I could. Trust me.

So anyway, my sister had mentioned to me that she hadn't responded to any of mother's texts about it, and was planning to just not show up. The idea was that mother would realise that my sister is sick of bowing to these ridiculous, constant hare-brained schemes, and they could have the big argument that has been simmering below the surface for the past few years. I could see where she was coming from, but I wasn't sure if it was the best idea to screw over the rest of us, who would be turning up, just to pick a fight with mother. My sister clearly thought about it again, because she decided to show up. I said to her that there'll be plenty of time to fight with mother once my sister's wedding planning starts in the next year or so. My mother is a freaking FUNCTION NAZI. And not even in a good way. It just all turns into a function that revolves around her making a grand entrance (literally) and speeches that thank her for being a good mother. That is seriously what she thinks will happen at my sister's wedding - forget that it's about the bride and groom!

So the photos were crap, and then I was enraged and couldn't face the idea of going home with her making little comments about how nice it was that we all showed up - like we had a fucking choice ...

I took myself off to the club and had a few cokes and read my book in peace. I met my friends for dinner, which was nice. We went back to the club after dinner to hang out, and then I drove Pickles home. Heslop was at the dinner and was being a weirdo again. It's like he just has to have my attention constantly. If I am talking to someone else, he'll pull my hair or nudge me with an elbow. The same crap he used to pull in high school, 15 years ago! Then he gets really cranky when we make fun of him for something, instead of taking it lightly he gets sulky. Ugh, it's so bad. On top of that, he's asking when I'm going to visit Dubbo again. I was there a week ago!

Oh, I also showed my car to the prospective buyer on Saturday morning. Pretty sure it's a no. They were nice enough, and had fair questions about the car, but when the conversation ended with a, "Well, we'll have a think and get back to you" it wasn't such a good sign. But that's okay. The car was going to be for the teenaged son, but his Dad was checking the car out, fine, but he also had a friend there with him, and the friend evidently thought he was a bit of a negotiator. They went over the car top to tail and asked me about the weirdest shit, but failed to notice the mismatched spare tyre and the repair work done at the front. Then this guy says, "So how long have you had it up for sale?" I said about three days and his face dropped, "Oh." Like he thought he could press me on the price if I'd had it listed for a few weeks or something. Couldn't even maintain a poker face, dickhead. Then they asked when I was moving and I said I hadn't booked anything yet, and he says, "Oh, so you really need to get rid of the car then?" Uhh, no? I haven't booked anything yet, and I only just listed it. I have plenty of time. And his face gave it away again, like he was trying to trick me again? Puh-lease. I'm useless at bluffing and even I did a better job than he did.

Still, it doesn't matter at the end of the day, because they didn't buy it. Probably a good thing, as if I want to negotiate a price with such an arrogant half-wit.

It took me a long time to get moving this morning, by the time I got up and had a shower it was 11am. I cleaned out my backpack and walked down to the supermarket. It's about a 20 minute walk, with a steep hill on the way back. I wandered around down there (not that there's much to look at - just a chemist and a greengrocer) and strolled through the supermarket to check a few things out. I got the stuff I wanted on sale, and a few other things, of course. Strolled back home, made my lunch and parked my ass on the bed to watch tv.

I am off to dinner at my grandmother's house tonight. Not looking forward to it, I feel really tired and I have my lady problems. I'd much rather stay in bed and snooze.


Dictynna June 22, 2014

My dad's friend is apparently great at selling cars, or just things in general, so dad suggested I get him to sell my car for me when I get around to it. Mum said I should put it on carsales.com.au. :P

AlexYourAlterEgo Dictynna ⋅ June 22, 2014

Yeah, it's always nice to have someone in the know! I was a bit nervous about it, but just refreshed myself on the service history and replaced parts, and decided on the amount I would be willing to negotiate down to. I find it very awkward haggling over things, but I think I have my arguments organised, haha. I'm chalking it up to a life experience!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.