EFF ME. in The day to day

  • Oct. 22, 2022, 7:57 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Well I found someone I was interested in again. We started talking last Saturday. Within a couple of days he was very much interested in me and wanted to turn his dating profile to hidden so he could focus on just me. I did the same.

From the start I told him how the last guy ghosted me and to please just let me know if he changes his mind at any point. He said he would never ghost someone.

Things are going good. He works third shift so it does make things a little harder to have consistent conversation. But not being entirely difficult. He also lives about an hour away from me, but it’s in a city where I have family. So it’s nothing for me to go there.

We planned to have a date today. He worked a 12 hour shift last night and earlier in the week he had worked a 16 hour shift. He’s been pretty exhausted as a result. I asked him last night if we needed to push the time back for our date just to make sure he was rested enough. We pushed it back an hour.

I worked a few hours this morning which was good to keep my mind occupied. I finished there and then had to go buy some fashion tape as I was going to wear an off the shoulder top for our date and I didn’t want my boobs falling out.

I get home and start to get ready for our date. I’m looking pretty cute. I message my BFF and my boss the details of my date. Where it’s going to be, what his name and number is, and what I’m wearing. Just in case.

Finally get on the road, when I get a text from the guy. Telling me he just woke up. I tell him I’m driving and headed that way. He responds with, “I’m not even fully awake.” Again, I’m driving and my voice to text is not working. I’m on an expressway at that. I’m able to text back that it’s going to take me an hour to get there, thinking that should be enough time for him to wake fully up and get ready. He responds with “Please let’s reschedule this. I do want to see you but I look and feel like shit.”

I’m immediately disappointed and can only respond with an “Oh.”

Yeah my heart just sunk. And I even felt like I could cry a little. I immediately take the next exit so I can pull into a parking lot somewhere. He apologizes and says he’s just exhausted through and through. Which I get. I do. But you work these hours on the regular, so when exactly are you not going to be exhausted for us to have a date.

He says he slept through three alarms and had no intention of this happening. And I believe him. I just can’t help that I’m disappointed. I told him as much. And that I do understand him being exhausted. So now I’m just sitting in a random parking lot writing this entry. I can’t seem to go anywhere.

My BFF said I should go to a bar. LOL One of my former coworkers who is in her early 20s invited me to a bar two weeks ago and I didn’t go. I may ask if she’s going again tonight and meet up.

The saga continues....


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.