Saturday, June 21st 2014 in I Need A New Job

  • June 21, 2014, 10:22 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Writers note: all names are changed to nicknames to protect myself... nobody is innocent here

Convict: So I have something to show you
Me: Okay
Convict: I had a fire alarm at the OD last night, but I didn't call the Fire Dep...
Me: [cutting her off] Why didn't you call the Fire Department?
Convict: Because it was cancelled
Me: You can't cancel a Fire alarm, what was the signal that came through?
Convict: A restore
Me: That isn't a cancel
Convict: Oh. Well I called premise and they said they had already called the fire department. So I did what the account told me when I opened it and I called the numbers listed. Turns out that guy hasn't worked there since last May!
Me: It's always so nice when people keep their accounts updated
Convict: So they told me that the changes were requested a long time ago, and they tried to make them with me, but I told them they couldn't do that and to call back and deal with it in the morning
Me: ...why couldn't you deal with it? You write down the information that they want, you log the alarm, and you MAKE THE CHANGES! So now what, you told them to call in the morning so they're going to call and complain to me?
Convict: I would guess so, yes
Me: There is no need to leave something like this for the next person, you need to be able to do these things yourself
Convict: Oh.. okay

Oh okay? OKAY?!?! I don't even want to figure out how long she's been employed here, but it is DEFINITELY long enough to know to call the fire department when a fire alarm goes off. I don't even know.

...I need a new job.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.