CONTAREX in General

  • Oct. 21, 2022, 7:36 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Contingency targeting Exercise.

I have no idea if they do those these days. It has been a while since I retired, and a really long time since I was a junior officer.

Crossing oceans to arrive in your area of responsibility there wasn’t much to do. We flew just enough to stay current.

What do you do with a drunken sailor? Throw him in the long boat ‘til he’s sober…

What do you do with a bunch of 20 something Alpha Type-A assholes when nothing is going on?

CONTAREX

Department heads would dream up the most ridiculous scenarios then put planning teams to work.

Inevitably the team would come to the conclusion: “This is ridiculous.”

“Of course, it is ridiculous. But if you were going to do it, how would you do it?”

And into the books and planning tools and charts we would go.

There is no scenario in the world a group of 24-30 year old Naval Aviators hasn’t sat around a table and planned.

Anyone seen “Top Gun: Maverick?”

Preposterous premise. But that was the kind of thing CONTAREX’s did.

By the way.

Got the email. I have a phone appointment on Monday. 0900-1430. To discuss the offer.

Things are moving. I know there is a drug test, and an orientation. I texted Steve, and he answered “Great! Hailey really needs your help!”

Hailey broke her ankle six weeks ago. And is only working part time until she gets cleared to drive.

I cringed when I heard that news. I broke my wrist at 14, and it was the worst pain I have ever felt. To this day. But at least I was ambulatory. Imagine having a broken ankle and driving a standard transmission?

Well. At least things are moving.

Not as exciting as flying tactical jets.

But a steady income.


gattaca October 22, 2022

I have not seen Maverick. I don't think I will. I'm not a 'sequel' or 'reboot' kind of person.
The only reboot that succeeded (and surpassed the De Laurentiis/David Lynch mess in 1984) in the theatre - in my opinion - was the Dune franchise.

Sassy October 28, 2022

Congratulations! This has been a long process!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.